You are here: Home Communications Pressroom News Hunter Celebrates This Year’s Student Fulbright Winners

Hunter Celebrates This Year’s Student Fulbright Winners

For 10 of the past 11 years, the U.S. Department of State has recognized Hunter College as a “Top Producer” of Fulbright award winners. This year, there’s more good news: The U.S. Student Fulbright Program has selected seven members of the Hunter Classes of 2018 and 2019 – awarding four with full funding for their 2019-2020 Fulbright proposals and three with alternate status (candidates awaiting additional Fulbright funding).

In a few months, Darsen Hover, Anastasiya Matveyenko, Bressni Neary, and Kevin Tang will travel abroad for their Fulbright year of teaching, conducting research, and building lasting relationships with the people of their host countries. Hunter applauds these outstanding young scholars and takes a brief look at their backgrounds, college studies, Fulbright projects, and plans for the future:

Darsen Hover  ’18 – Destination: Hungary

Anastasiya Matveyenko, BA/MA
’16 Destination: Italy

Bressni Neary ’19 – Destination: Spain

Kevin Tang ’18 – Destination: Jordan

Hunter also congratulates the 2019 alternate candidates, who are still in the running for 2019 Fubright grants:

Elizabeth Mashkow ’19 – Destination: Netherlands
Sean O’Hara ’19 – Destination: Macedonia

Aidana Razhap ’19 – Destination: Georgia

To get expert help with applying for Fulbright grants and other national awards, Hunter students and graduates should contact The Ruth & Harold Newman Office of Prestigious Scholarships & Fellowships at (212) 396-6910 or

Document Actions
695 Park Ave
NY, NY 10065