Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Masterlinks
You are here: Home English People Full-Time Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

 

Faculty Member
Areas of Interest Office
Contact Information
Tanya Agathocleous 
Associate Professor 
PhD, Rutgers University
19th and 20th Century British Literature and Culture, Global Anglophone Literature HW 1201

tagathoc@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-4037

Meena Alexander
Distinguished Professor
PhD, University of Nottingham
Poetry, Poetics, Post-colonial Literature, Gender, Migration and Memory, Romantic Poetry HW 1230
Graduate Center:
(212) 817-8344
Cristina León Alfar
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Washington
Shakespeare, Renaissance Drama, Critical Theory, Women's Studies HW 1212A
calfar@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5187 
Jeffrey Allred
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Pennsylvania
American Literature, Modernism, American Studies, Visual Culture HW 1237
jallre@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5170
Kelvin Black
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Literature from the Restoration to Present with a special emphasis in British and American Literatures across the 19th Century, Philosophy of History, Political Theory, Legal Theory
HW 1204

kelvin.black@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-4057

Mark Bobrow
Lecturer
American Literature, Composition and Writing HW 1249 mbobrow@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5203
Peter Carey
Distinguished Professor
Fiction Writing HW 1228 

pcarey@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5074

Sarah Chinn
Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University
American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Studies HW 1209

sarah.chinn@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5178

Chong Chon-Smith
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, San Diego
Asian American Studies, American Studies, Cultural Studies, Visual/Film Studies, Comparative Ethnic Studies HW 1334

cchonsmi@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5180

Rebecca Connor
Associate Professor
PhD, Stanford Univeristy
18th Century British Literature, 18th Century Visual and Material Culture, Women and Economics, the Gothic (18th-21st centuries) HW 1216

rebecca.connor@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-4043

Louise DeSalvo
Jenny Hunter Professor of Creative Writing
PhD, New York University
Modern British Fiction, Creative Writing, Biography and Memoir HW 1220 

louisedesalvo@comcast.net
(212) 772-5173

Michael Dowdy
Associate Professor
PhD, University of North Carolina
20th Century American Poetry, Literary Theory, Latino/a Literature, 20th Century Latin American Poetry HW 1249A

mdowdy@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5165

Jeremy Glick
Assistant Professor
PhD, Rutgers University
Modern & Contemporary Drama, African Diaspora and Caribbean Literature HW 1246 

jglic@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5118

Karen Greenberg
Professor
PhD, New York University
Applied Linguistics, Critical Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Web 2.0 Teaching and Learning HW 1221 

kgreenbe@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5175

Lynne Greenberg
Associate Professor
PhD, the City University of New York
Milton, 17th Century British Literature HW 1224 

lynne.greenberg@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5182

Wendy Hayden
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Maryland
Rhetoric and Composition, Feminist Rhetorics HW 1233

whayden@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5759

Marlene Hennessy
Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University
Chaucer, Medieval Literature, Manuscript Studies, Visual Culture HW 1411

marlene.hennessy@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5078

Gavin Hollis
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Michigan
Shakespeare and Renaissance Drama HW 1201 

ghollis@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5179

Nico Israel
Associate Professor
PhD, Yale University
20th Century Literature, Literary Theory, Visual Culture HW 1225 

nisrael@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5111

Leigh Jones
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Arizona
Rhetorical Theory and Criticism, Composition, Nationalism Studies
HW 1215 

leigh.jones@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5189

Richard Kaye
Associate Professor
PhD, Princeton University
Victorian Literature, History of the Novel, Queer Theory, Modernism HW 1214

krichar@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5743

Jan Heller Levi
Professor
BA, Sarah Lawrence
Poetry Writing HW 1205

janhellerlevi@gmail.com
(212) 772-5185

Ramesh Mallipeddi
Assistant Professor
PhD, Cornell University 
Restoration and 18th Century British Literature, Sentimentalism, Colonial and Post-colonial Studies, Critical Theory HW 1247

ramesh.mallipeddi@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5163

Donna Masini
Associate Professor
MA, New York University
Creative Writing, Contemporary Poetry HW 1223 

dlmasini@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5166

Colum McCann
Distinguished Lecturer
Creative Writing HW 1229 

cmccann158@gmail.com
(212) 772-5162

Paul McPherron
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Davis

Applied Linguistics, ESL

HW 1248
pm39@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5201
Evelyn Melamed
Assistant Professor
MA, City College
MA, Adelphi University

Writing, American Literature HW 1210 

emelamed@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5168

Mark Miller
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Pennsylvania  
Early American Literature; Native American Literature; Gender, Sexuality, and Race Studies
HW 1227

mark.miller@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5174

Janet Neary
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California-Irvine

19th & 20th Century American Literature, African American Literature and Visual Culture HW 1204

jneary@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-4039

Elizabeth Nunez
Distinguished Professor
PhD, New York University

Creative Writing Fiction, English Literature, Caribbean Literature HW 1305

elizabeth.nunez@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-4051

Kate Parry
Professor
EdD, Columbia University
Applied Linguistics HW 1231

kparry@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5169

Sonali Perera
Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University
Post-Colonial Literature and Theory, Marxist Theory, Working-Class Literature, Globalization Studies, Feminist Theory
HW 1215

sperer@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 396-6489

Angela Reyes
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Pennsylvania 
Linguistic Anthropology, Discourse Analysis, Asian American Studies HW 1232 

arreye@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5076

Amy Moorman Robbins
Associate Professor
PhD, University of California, Riverside 
Modern and Contemporary American Poetry, Avante-garde and experimental Poetics, Feminist Literature and Theory HW 1442A 

amy.robbins@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5752

Dow Robbins
Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Riverside 
Rhetoric & Composition, British Romanticism HW 1335

dow.robbins@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 396-6431

Gary Schmidgall
Professor
PhD, Stanford University
Shakespeare, Renaissance Poetry, Walt Whitman, Oscar Wilde, Biography, Gay and Lesbian Studies, Literature and Music HW 1412 

gschmidg@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5117

Thomas Sleigh
Distinguished Professor
MFA, Johns Hopkins University
Poetry HW 1217

tsleigh@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5176

Trudy Smoke
Professor
PhD, New York University 
Applied Linguistics, Rhetoric and Composition HW 1218 

tsmoke@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5742

Michael Thomas
Associate Professor
MFA, Warren Wilson
Creative Writing HW 1203 

longasthesky@hotmail.com
(212) 772-5079

Neal Tolchin
Associate Professor
PhD, Rutgers University 
American Literature, Ethnic Literature HW 1229

mobyneal@gmail.com
(212) 772-5162

Sylvia Tomasch
Professor
PhD, the City University of New York 
Chaucer, Medieval Literature, Historical Cartography, Medieval Ethnic Studies HW 1306

stomasch@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-4052

Alan Vardy
Professor
PhD, University of Washington
Romanticism HW 1226

avardy@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5202

Barbara Webb
Associate Professor
PhD, New York University
African-American Literature, African-Caribbean Literature, African Literature HW 1219 

bwebb@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5177

Stephen Wetta
Lecturer
PhD, New York University 
English as a Second Language, Creative Writing HW 1236 

swetta@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5129

David Winn
Assistant Professor
Fiction Writing, The Short Story HW 1410 

dwinn@hunter.cuny.edu
(212) 772-5110

Document Actions
English website feedback:
West Building Room 1212
(212) 772-5070 | email us
HUNTER COLLEGE
695 Park Ave
NY, NY 10065
212.772.4000