Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home Faculty Delegate Assembly About Us The Faculty Delegate Assembly at Hunter College

The Faculty Delegate Assembly at Hunter College

The FDA is Hunter's faculty-only governance body. Its chief mission is to inform faculty about campus-wide issues through its monthly meetings. These meetings feature talks by top administrators, as well as forums on such topics as tenure, promotion, publishing, grants, and academic freedom. The FDA also sponsors wine and cheese socials each semester.

The FDA's membership consists of delegates from each department. However, its meetings are open to all Hunter faculty. The agendas for its monthy meetings are set by its seven memeber Executive Committee.

The FDA works to act on issues of concern to Hunter faculty. Faculty are always welcome to submit suggestions and concerns that they would like the FDA Executive Committee to investigate. The concerns addressed range from such mundane issues as expanding hours for the photo-duplication room to “bigger” concerns, such as faculty teaching loads and tenure and promotion.

To express concerns to the FDA, faculty can send an e-mail to or send their comments through campus mail to the FDA Administrative Office at 1414HE. Faculty may also request a meeting with any member of the FDA Executive Committee. A list of members of the current FDA Executive Committee may be found under Who Are the Members? on this website.  All such contacts to the FDA are treated as confidential.

The FDA Executive Committee meets monthly to discuss general issues of the faculty and to plan the agenda for FDA General Faculty meetings (see “Meeting Schedule” for specific meeting dates this semester). Past Executive Committees have planned forums addressing such topics as tenure, promotions, academic freedom, obtaining non-governmental grant funding, and the administration’s grant-vetting process.

The Executive Committee is also charged with the supervision of two spaces at the college - the "Solarium" (room 1413HE) and the Faculty/Staff Lounge (on the 8th floor of HW) - and attends to practical issues affecting the maintenance and use of these spaces. To reserve these spaces go to the Solarium or the Faculty/Staff Lounge.

Executive Committee meetings are open only to members of the Executive Committee. However, faculty who have issues they would like the FDA to consider (and which they would prefer to present here instead of the General Faculty meetings) may contact the FDA in advance, at

All faculty are welcome to attend the FDA General Faculty meetings, at which the FDA provides coffee and cookies. These meetings provide an opportunity for faculty to hear from various Hunter administrators and other colleagues about current issues (e.g., budget cuts, new CUNY-wide or Hunter initiatives, etc.).  When Hunter’s president attends, she presents a college update; when the provost attends, she offers an academic update. 

At each meeting, we discuss various resources that affect our faculty (how to get a book published, etc.). The final hour of most monthly meetings is devoted to a forum on a specific topic announced in advance, often led by an invited member of the Hunter community. Suggestions from faculty of topics that would have wide appeal to Hunter faculty are always appreciated. Recent topics include book publishing, academic freedom, the increased reliance on adjuncts at Hunter, and udpates on contract negotiations from members of the PSC Executive Council.

The FDA Executive Committee meets the first Wednesday of each month to discuss general issues of the faculty and to plan the agenda for FDA General Faculty meetings. They are also charged with the supervision of two spaces at the college: the "Solarium" (room 1413HE) and the Faculty/Staff Lounge (on the 8th floor of HW).

The General Assembly consists of two faculty members elected by each academic department, the faculty members of the Administrative Committee of the Hunter College Senate, the members of the Executive Committee of the General Faculty, and all Hunter delegates to the University Faculty Senate.

The Executive Committee of the FDA consists of 7 elected officers who each serve 2-year terms: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Day Session Representative, Evening Session Representative, and Part-time/Adjunct Representative.

Individuals interested in running for a position on the FDA Executive Committee are encouraged to contact the FDA administrative office at x14123 or email us.

President (on sabbattical): Bernadette McCauley (History; term 2013-2015)


Vice President (acting President): Tony Doyle (Library; term 2013-2015)


Secretary: Debbie Sonu (Curriculum & Teaching; term 2013-2015)


Treasurer: John Toth (Curriculum & Teaching; term 2013-2015)


Part Time Representative: Síocháin Hughes (Art/ACERT; term 2013-2015)


Day Session Representative: Ann Gaba (School of Public Health; term 2013-2015)


Evening Session Representative: Vacant



frontpage stats
Document Actions
« March 2015 »
Go to full calendar…
Faculty Delegate Assembly website feedback:
East Building Room 1414
(212) 772-4123 | email us
695 Park Ave
NY, NY 10065