Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Honors College » Current Students » School of Arts & Sciences: Undergraduate Advisors
Document Actions

School of Arts & Sciences: Undergraduate Advisors

A listing of all Departmental Advisors in the School of Arts & Sciences with contact information for each.

Dean's Office

Room: 812 East
Phone: 212-772-5121
Fax: 212-772-5138

Acting Dean of Arts & Sciences:
Robert Greenberg (212-772-4825; robert.greenberg@hunter.cuny.edu)

Acting Assistant Dean:
Maria Doelger Anderson (212-772-5247; maria.anderson@hunter.cuny.edu)

Executive Assistant:
Robert Kulesz (212-772-5095; rkulesz@hunter.cuny.edu)

Assistant:
Katy Bors (212-650-3611; kbors@hunter.cuny.edu)

 

Pre-Health Advising

Room: 803 East
Phone: 212-772-5244
www.hunter.cuny.edu/prehealth

Director:
Lolita Wood-Hill (212-772-5244; lolita.woodhill@hunter.cuny.edu)

Pre-Health Coordinator:
Kelly Gentry (212-772-5244; kelly.gentry@hunter.cuny.edu)

Assistant:
Woldine Guerrier (212-772-5244; woldine.guerrier@hunter.cuny.edu)

 

Pre-Business Advising

Room: 1004 East
Phone: 212-772-4825
www.hunter.cuny.edu/prebusiness

Director:
Roszell Mack (212-772-4825; roszell.mack@hunter.cuny.edu)

Assistant:
Josh Hill (212-772-5121; jhi@hunter.cuny.edu)

 

Pre-Law Advising

Room: 1134 East
Phone: 212-772-4882
www.hunter.cuny.edu/prelaw

Director:
Elise B. Jaffe (212-772-4882; elise.jaffe@hunter.cuny.edu)

 

Departmental Advisors

* Humanities & Arts
# Social Sciences
~ Sciences & Mathematics)

* Africana & Puerto Rican/ Latino Studies
Room: 1711 West
Phone: 212-772-5035
Fax: 212-650-3596
Web: www.hunter.cuny.edu/afprl
Chair: Ehiedu Iweriebor (212-772-5141; eiwerieb@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Jaafar Kassem-Ali (212-772-5030; jkassima@hunter.cuny.edu)                                   

* Anthropology
Room: 721 North
Phone: 212-772-5410
Fax: 212-772-5423
Web: http://maxweber.hunter.cuny.edu/anthro
Chair: Marc Edelman (212-772-5410; marc.edelman@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Ignasi Clemente (212-772-5424; uganthro@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Art
Room: 1154 North
Phone: 212-772-4995
Fax: 212-772-4458
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/art
Chair: Thomas Weaver (212-772-5051; hweaver@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor for Studio Art: Gabriele Evertz (212-772-5529; gevertz@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor for Studio Art: Susan Crile (scrile@rcn.com)
UG Advisor for Art History: Lisa Vergara (212-650-3754; lverga@rcn.com)

~ Biological Sciences
Room: 927 North
Phone: 212-772-5293
Fax: 212-772-5227
Web: http://biology.hunter.cuny.edu
Chair: Shirley Raps (212-772-5281; raps@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: (All faculty. See department.)
Roger Persell (212-772-4106; persell@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu)
Ben Ortiz (212-772-5670; ortiz@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu)
Top Advisor: Patricia Rockwell (212-650-3234; rockwell@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu)
Major Declaration Advisor: David Foster (212-772-4075; foster@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu)

~ Chemistry
Room: 1307 North
Phone: 212-772-5330
Fax: 212-772-5332
Web: http://hunter.cuny.edu/chemistry
Chair: Gary Quigley (212-772-5377; gary.quigley@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Spiro Alexandratos (212-650-3914; alexsd@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Classical & Oriental Studies
Room: 1425 West
Phone: 212-772-4960
Fax: 212-772-5007
Web: http://hunter.cuny.edu/classics
Chair: Tamara Green (212-772-5061; tgreen@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor (Classics): Robert Koehl (212-772-5181; rkoehl@hunter.cuny.edu)
Arabic Advisor: Christopher Stone (212-650-3138; cst@hunter.cuny.edu)
Chinese Advisor: Der-lin Chao (212-772-4965; dchao@hunter.cuny.edu)
Hebrew and Hebraic Advisor: Yitzhak Berger (212-772-5058; yitzhak.berger@hunter.cuny.edu)
Japanese Advisor: Sue Kawashima (212-772-4962; skawashi@hunter.cuny.edu)
Russian  and Slavic Advisor: Nadya Peterson (212-772-5059; npeterso@hunter.cuny.edu)
Evening Advisor (Classics): William Mayer (212-772-4958; wmayer@hunter.cuny.edu)

~ Computer Science
Room:  1008 North
Phone: 212-772-5213
Fax: 212-772-5219
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/csci
Chair: Virginia Teller (212-650-3074; vteller@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: All faculty. See department.

# Economics
Room: 1524 West
Phone: 212-772-5400
Fax: 212-772-5398
Web: http://econ.hunter.cuny.edu
Chair: Marjorie Honig (212-772-5397; mhonig@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Economics Advisor: Nate Wright (212-772-5278; nate.wright@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Accounting Advisor: Michael Schleifer (212-772-5395; mschleif@hunter.cuny.edu)
BA/MA Graduate Advisor: Randall Filer (212-772-5399; rfiler@hunter.cuny.edu)

* English
Room: 1212 West
Phone: 212-772-5070
Fax: 212-772-5411
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/english
Chair: Cristina Alfar (212-772-5187; calfar@hunter.cuny.edu)
Deputy Chair: Barbara Webb (212-772-5177; bwebb@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisors: All of the following.
Rebecca Connor (212-772-4043; rebecca.connor@hunter.cuny.edu)
Jan Heller Levi (212-772-5185; jhlevi@hunter.cuny.edu)
Nondita Mason (212-772-4039; nmason@hunter.cuny.edu)
Mark Bobrow (212-772-5203; mbobrow@hunter.cuny.edu)
Lynne Greenberg (212-772-5182; lynne.greenberg@hunter.cuny.edu)
Donna Messini (212-772-5166; dmessini@hunter.cuny.edu)
Angela Reyes (212-772-5076; arreye@hunter.cuny.edu)
Alan Vardy (212-772-5202; avardy@hunter.cuny.edu)
Barbara Webb (212-772-5177; bwebb@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Film & Media Studies
Room: 433 North
Phone: 212-772-4949
Fax: 212-650-3619
Web: http://brie.hunter.cuny.edu
Chair: James Roman (212-772-4470; drj5647@optonline.net)
UG Media Advisor: Larry Shore (212-772-4807; lshunter@optonline.net)
Deputy Chair & Media Advisor: Bill Herman (212-772-4008; bherman@hunter.cuny.edu)

~ Geography
Room: 1006 North
Phone: 212-772-5265
Fax: 212-772-5268
Web: http://www.geo.hunter.cuny.edu
CoDirectors: Carol Gersmehi (212-650-3534; carol.gersmehi@hunter.cuny.edu) and Phillip Gersmehi (212-650-3534; phillip.gersmehi@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Charles Heatwole (212-772-5323; charles.heatwole@geo.hunter.cuny.edu)
Environmental Studies Advisor: Peter Marcotullio (212-772-5264; peter.marcotullio@hunter.cuny.edu)
GIS Advisor: Sean Ahearn (212-772-5327; sahearn@hunter.cuny.edu)

* German
Room: 1405 West
Phone: 212-772-4980
Fax: 212-772-5746
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/german
Chair & Advisor: Elke Nicolai (212-772-4985; enicolai@hunter.cuny.edu)
Advisors: Lisa Marie Anderson (212-772-5006; lisa.andrson@hunter.cuny.edu) and Eckhard Kuhn-Osius (212-772-5068; ekuhnos@hunter.cuny.edu)

* History
Room: 1512 West
Phone: 212-772-5480
Fax: 212-772-5545
Web: http://www.hunnter.cuny.edu/history
Chair: Barbara Welter (212-772-5487; bwelter@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Angelo Angelis (212-772-5540; aangelis@hunter.cuny.edu)

~ Mathematics & Statistics
Room: 919/944 East
Phone: 212-772-5300 or 212-650-3325
Fax: 212-772-4858
Web: http://math.hunter.cuny.edu
Chair: Ada Peluso (212-772-4632; apeluso@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor for Math Majors: John Loustau (212-772-4600; jloustau@msn.com)
UG Advisor for Statistics Majors: Edward Binkowski (212-772-4715; edward.binkowski@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG & G Math Education Advisor: Rachael Welder (212-772-4697; rwelder@hunter.cuny.edu)
Advisor for Non-Majors: Verna Segarra (212-772-5769; vsegarra@hunter.cuny.edu)
Internship Advisor: Edward Binkowski (212-772-4715; edward.binkowski@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Music
Room: 416 North
Phone: 212-772-5020
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/music
Chair: Ruth DeFord (212-772-5026; ruth.deford@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Mark Spicer (212-772-5024; markspicer@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Philosophy
Room: 1413 West
Phone: 212-772-4970
Fax: 212-650-3675
Chair: Frank Kirkland (212-772-5080; fkirklan@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisors: All of the following.
Christa Acampora (212-772-4978; cacampor@hunter.cuny.edu)
Steven Ross (212-772-5082; sonokal@earthlink.net)
Laura Keating (212-772-4972; lkeating@hunter.cuny.edu)
Omar Dahbour (212-772-5084; odahbour@hunter.cuny.edu)
Frank Kirkland (212-772-4970; fkirklan@hunter.cuny.edu)

~ Physics & Astronomy
Room: 1225 North
Phone: 212-772-5248
Fax: 212-772-5390
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/physics
Chair: Ying-Chih Chen (212-772-4526; y.c.chen@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Mark Hillery (212-772-5253; mhillery@hunter.cuny.edu)

# Political Science
Room:  1724 West
Phone: 212-772-5500/5501
Fax: 212-650-3669
Web: http://hunter.cuny.edu/polsci
Chair: Charles Tien (212-772-5494; ctien@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Lina Newton (212-772-4785; lnewton@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Carolyn Somerville (212-772-5669; csomerv@hunter.cuny.edu)

# Psychology
Room: 611 North
Phone: 212-772-5550
Fax: 212-772-5620
Web: http://hunter.cuny.edu/psychology
Acting Chair: Vanya Quinones-Jenab (212-772-4640; vquinon@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Lynne Kemen (212-772-5568; psychadv@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Jean Ryan (212-772-5568; jmrya@hunter.cuny.edu)
Bio-Psychology Program Director: Michael Lewis (212-772-5280; mlewis@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Romance Languages
Room: 1341 West
Phone: 212-772-5108
Fax: 212-772-5094
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/romancelanguages
Chair: Giuseppe Di Scipio (212-772-5109; gdiscipi@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG French Advisor: Michele Bocquillon (212-772-5102; mboquil@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG French Advisor: Michael Taormina (212-772-5099; mtaurmin@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Italian Advisor: Paolo Fasoli (212-772-5129; pfasoli@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Italian Advisor: Monica Calabritto (212-772-5098; mcalabri@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Italian Advisor: Maria Paynter (212-772-5090; mpaynter@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Spanish Advisor: Maria Luisa Fischer (212-772-5146; maria.fischer@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Spanish Advisor: Alicia Ramos (212-772-5130; rosramos@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Spanish Advisor: Maria Hernandez (212-772-4696; mhern@hunter.cuny.edu)

# Sociology
Room: 1622 West
Phone: 212-772-5585
Fax: 212-772-5645
Web: http://maxweber.hunter.cuny.edu/sociology
Chair: Robert Perinbanayagam (212-772-5635; rperinba@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Claus Mueller (212-772-5576; socadvis@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Michael Wood (212-772-5576; socadvis@hunter.cuny.edu)

* Theatre
Room: 522 North
Phone: 212-772-5149
Fax: 212-650-3584
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/theatre
Chair: Barbara Bosch (212-650-3789; bbosch@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Judith Jablonka (212-772-4642; jjablonk@hunter.cuny.edu)

# Urban Affairs & Planning
Room: 1611 West
Phone: 212-772-5518
Fax: 212-772-5593
Web: http://maxweber.hunter.cuny.edu/urban
Chair: Joseph Viteritti (212-772-5515; joseph.viteritti@hunter.cuny.edu)
UG Advisor: Sigmund Shipp (212-772-5591; sshipp@hunter.cuny.edu or urban@hunter.cuny.edu)