Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Masterlinks
You are here: Home Music Department Concerts and Events

Spring 2017 Concert and Events

Hunter College Music Department
Suzanne Farrin, Department Chair


Fri., Feb. 17 @ 7:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Guest Artist Recital
– Amir Khosrowpour, piano FREE

 

Wed., Feb. 22 @ 1:00 PM – West Crossover 3rd Floor
Crossover Jazz
The Hunter Jazz Ensemble & Jazz Combos - Ryan Keberle, director FREE

 

Mon., Feb. 27 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Student Recital
– Student instrumental & vocal performances FREE

 

Wed., Mar. 1 @ 7:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
From Syria With Love
- Arias and Maqams by Lubana Al Quntar - Accompanied by Eylem Basaldi, violin and April Centrone, oud & percussion - FREE


Mon., Mar. 6 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Guest Artist Recital
Risto-Matti Marin, piano and Matthew Whittall, composer – FREE

 

Tues., Mar. 7 @ 10:30 AM – Lang Recital Hall
Piano Masterclass
– Guest artists Risto-Matti Marin, piano and Matthew Whittall, composer FREE

 

Wed., Mar. 8 @ 1:00 PM – West Crossover 3rd Floor
Crossover Jazz
– The Hunter Jazz Vocal Ensemble & The Popular Music Combos - Priscilla Owens & D.D. Jackson, directors FREE

 

Thurs., Mar. 9 @ 7:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
– Quynh Nguyen, piano and Phil Ewell, cello FREE

 

Mon., Mar. 13 @ 7:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Guest Artist Lecture/Recital
– Refracting the Piano with CUNY DMA Candidate Imri Talgam - World Premieres by CUNY Composers; Vicente Alexim, Daniel Fox, and Peter Kramer; and selections from the Ligeti Etudes  FREE

 

Wed., Mar. 15 @ 1:15 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Student Recital
– Student instrumental and vocal performances - FREE

 

Wed., Mar. 15 @ 8:00 PM – Assembly Hall
Hunter Symphony
Reuben Blundell, conductorFREE

 

Thurs., Mar. 16 @ 5:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
B. Mus. Recital
– Gabriel Postelnicu, piano FREE

 

Mon., Mar. 20 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital Geoffrey Burleson, piano FREE

 

Wed., Mar. 22 @ 7:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Chamber Singers
– "In The Spotlight" - Operatic Hors d'oeuvres featuring choruses and ensembles - Paul F. Mueller, conductor FREE

 

Thurs., Mar. 23 @ 5:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
B. Mus. Recital
Tzu-En Lee, violin – FREE

 

Fri., Mar. 24 @ 5:15 PM – West Crossover 3rd Floor
Jazz Combos Recital
– Ryan Keberle, director FREE

 

Mon., Mar. 27 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
– Tyler Walker, piano FREE

 

Wed., Apr. 5 @ 1:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Crossover Jazz – The Hunter Jazz Ensemble & The Popular Music Combos - Ryan Keberle & D.D. Jackson, directors – FREE

 

Wed., Apr. 5 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
CUNY Premieres -
New Works for the Longleash Trio - Suzanne Farrin, director FREE

 

Thurs., April 6 @ 1:00PM - Lang Recital Hall
Middle Eastern Music Workshop with Saudi Arabian guitarist Diya Azzony
- In partnership with Middle East Insitute - Ozan Aksoy, host - FREE


Thurs., Apr. 6 @ 7:00 PM – West End Collegiate Church, 245 West 77th Street
Masters Recital
– Matthew Thomas, organ - FREE

 

Thurs., Apr. 20 @ 5:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Student Recital
– Student instrumental & vocal performances – FREE

 

Fri., Apr. 21 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
– Priscilla Owens, voice - FREE

 

Mon., Apr. 24 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Guest Artist Recital
Washington Garcia, piano – FREE

 

Tues., Apr. 25 @ 11:00 AM – Lang Recital Hall
Piano Masterclass
Washington Garcia, piano - FREE

 

Thurs., Apr. 27 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
Julia Biber, cello – FREE

 

Tues., May 2 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Jazz Ensemble and Combos
Ryan Keberle, director – FREE

 

Fri., May 5 @ 8:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
Jazz Vocal Workshop
- Priscilla Owens, director - FREE

 

Mon., May 8 @ 8:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
Popular Music Combos - D.D. Jackson, director - FREE

 

Tues., May 9 @ 5:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
Piano Department Festival - John Cage's Sonatas & Interludes for Prepared Piano, performed by department faculty and students, with guest artists from the Hunter College Dance Department - Geoffrey Burelson, director - FREE

 

Wed., May 10 @ 8:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
Chamber Music Workshop
- Joao Luiz, director - FREE

 

Thurs., May 11 and Fri., May 12 @ 7:30 PM - Danny Kaye Playhouse
Hunter Opera Company - "Lady Bird: First Lady of the Land" Composed by Henry Mollicone, Libretto by Sheldon Harnick; "Fireworks" Composed by Kitty Brazelton, Libretto by Billy Aronson - Susan Gonzalez, Director and Steve Crawford, Conductor
$15 General Admission / $5 students, seniors / FREE with Hunter ID

 

Tues., May 16 @ 7:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
A Cappella Concert - Kari Francis, director - FREE

 

Wed., May 17 @ 8:00 PM - Assembly Hall
Hunter Symphony and Hunter College Choir
- Dvorak Te Deum and Goin' Home, Vaughan Williams Toward the Unknown Region and Student Concerto/Aria Competition Winners - Reuben Blundell, conductor
$12 General Admission / $5 seniors / FREE with any Student ID

 

Thurs., May 18 @ 1:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
Cultural Policy, Practice, and Diplomacy: A Seminar - Barbara Hampton, director - FREE

 

Mon., May 22 @ 8:00 PM - Lang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
- Jennifer Roderer, voice - FREE

 


 


 



To purchase tickets,
please call the Hunter College Box Office at
212-772-4448

Hunter College Music Department
212-772-5020

music@hunter.cuny.edu
www.hunter.cuny.edu/music

 

Back to top

Document Actions
April 2014 »
April
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
Go to full calendar…
 
Music Department website contact:
Hunter College Music Department 695 Park Avenue 416 Hunter North New York, NY 10065 Fax: 212-772-5022 | Telephone : 212-772-5020 | webmaster