Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Masterlinks
You are here: Home Music Department Concerts and Events

Summer 2016 Concert and Events

Hunter College Music Department
Suzanne Farrin, Department Chair


International Keyboard Institute & Festival at Hunter College:  July 17-31, 2016
For schedule and additional information, please go to http://www.ikif.org


 

(Spring 2016 Concert and Events are listed below)

 


Thurs., Feb. 18 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Robert Bronchard, piano – FREE



Wed., Feb. 24 @ 11:00 AMLang Recital Hall
Piano Masterclass
Guest Artist John Pickett – FREE



Thurs., Feb. 25 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Guest Artist Recital
– John Pickett, piano – FREE



Tues., Mar. 1 @ 2:00 PM – West Crossover 3rd Floor
Crossover Jazz
– The Hunter Jazz Ensemble & Jazz Combos-
Ryan Keberle, director FREE


Thurs., Mar. 3 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Student Recital
– Student instrumental & vocal performances FREE



Wed., Mar. 9 @ 7:00 PMLang Recital Hall
Opera Masterclass
Ira Siff – FREE



Thurs., Mar. 10 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Adam Hug, guitar – FREE



POSTPONED UNTIL MAY 24:
(originally scheduled for Mon., Mar. 14 @ 8:00 PM in
Lang Recital Hall)
B. Mus Recital
Kaitlin McKendry, voice – FREE



Wed., Mar 16 @ 8:00 PM – Assembly Hall
Hunter Symphony
– Reuben Blundell, conductor, with
concerto soloist Geoffrey Burleson, piano

$12 / $5 seniors/ FREE w/any Student ID



Thurs., Mar. 17 @ 9:45 AM – Lang Recital Hall
Chamber Music Masterclass
Jeffrey Multer, violin– FREE


Thurs., Mar. 17 @ 5:30 PMLang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
Harry Inglis, viola – FREE



Thurs., Mar. 17 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
Andrew Ranaudo, piano – FREE



Mon., Mar. 21 @ 11:00 AM – Lang Recital Hall
Masterclass
– Steven Lubin, piano FREE



POSTPONED TO A LATER TBA
(originally scheduled for Mon., Mar. 21 @ 8:00 PM in Lang Recital Hall)
Guest Artist Recital
– Steven Lubin, piano FREE



Tues., Mar. 22 @ 6:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Crossover Jazz
– Jazz Vocal Ensemble – FREE


Wed., Mar. 23 @ 5:00 PM – West Crossover 3rd Floor
Crossover Jazz
– The Hunter Jazz Ensemble & Popular Combos-
Ryan Keberle and D.D. Jackson, directors FREE


Thurs., Mar. 24 @ 5:30 PMLang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
Shui Har Jenny Chan, piano – FREE



Thurs., Mar. 24 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Luke Vichnis, guitar – FREE



Mon., Mar. 28 @ 5:30 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Pasquale Iannelli, saxophone – FREE



Mon., Mar. 28 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Carol Szwei, voice – FREE


 

Tues., Mar. 29 @ 2:10 PM – Room 405 Hunter North
Hunter Music Education Program Guest Lecture:  Music of the Andes, presented by Juan Santana
– Prof. Victor Bobetsky, director - FREE

 


Wed., Mar. 30 @ 1:15 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Student Recital
– Student instrumental & vocal performances FREE



Wed., Mar. 30 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
– Priscilla Owens, voice
$12 / $5 students, seniors/FREE w/Hunter ID


Thurs., Mar. 31 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
– Susan Gonzalez, voice with Geoffrey Burleson, piano
$12 / $5 students, seniors/FREE w/Hunter ID 



Mon., Apr. 4 @ 5:30 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Dennis Campos, French Horn – FREE



Mon., Apr. 4 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Victoria Franco, voice – FREE



Thurs., Apr. 7 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
– Quynh Nguyen, piano
$12 / $5 students, seniors/FREE w/Hunter ID 



Mon., Apr. 11 @ 5:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Student Recital
– Student instrumental & vocal performances FREE



Mon., Apr. 11 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
Courtney Brown, piano – FREE


 

Tues., Apr. 12 @ 2:10 PM – Room 405 Hunter North
Hunter Music Education Program Guest Lecture:  The Art of the Shakuhachi, presented by James Shlefer
Prof. Victor Bobetsky, director – FREE

 


POSTPONED DUE TO ILLNESS:  Wed., Apr. 13 @ 7:00 PMLang Recital Hall
Opera Masterclass
Ruth Ann Swenson – FREE



Thurs., Apr. 14 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
Ross Schwaber, voice – FREE



Fri., Apr. 15 @ 5:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Crossover Jazz
– The Hunter Jazz Combos- Ryan Keberle, director FREE


Mon., Apr. 18 @ 7:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Chamber Singers
– James Wetzel, conductor – FREE



Wed., Apr. 20 @ 1:00 PM – West Crossover 3rd Floor
Crossover Jazz
– The Popular Combos – D.D. Jackson, director FREE


Thurs., Apr. 21 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Faculty Recital
– Steven Graff, piano
$12 / $5 students, seniors/FREE w/Hunter ID 



Tues., May 3 @ 8:00 PMLang Recital Hall
Masters Recital
Neviton Barros, conducting – FREE



Wed., May 4 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Chamber Music Workshop
– Reuben Blundell, director – FREE



Thurs., May 5 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Opera Scenes
Susan Gonzalez, director – FREE


Fri., May 6 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Jazz Vocal Workshop
Priscilla Owens, director FREE



Tues., May 10 @ 5:30 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Satie 150: A Hunter College Piano Department Celebration of
Erik Satie’s 150th Birthday
Geoffrey Burleson, director FREE



Wed., May 11 @ 8:00 PM – Assembly Hall
Hunter Symphony
– Reuben Blundell, conductor, with student soloists
$12 / $5 seniors/ FREE w/any Student ID


 

Thurs., May 12 @ 1:00-4:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Symposium on Theorizing Gender in Ethnomusicology
– Barbara Hampton, director
FREE

 

 

Thurs., May 12 @ 6:00 PM – Room 405, Hunter North
Ethnomusicology Concert, featuring Jadele McPherson, Saki Taguchi and Domenico Porco
– Barbara Hampton, director
FREE

 


Thurs., May 12 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Jazz Ensemble
– Ryan Keberle, director FREE



Mon., May 16 @ 7:30 PM – Assembly Hall
Hunter College Choir
James Wetzel and Matthew Rupcich, conductors
$12 / $5 students, seniors/FREE w/Hunter ID


Tues., May 17 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
Popular Music Combos
– D.D. Jackson, director FREE

 


Wed., May 18 @ 8:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
New York Opera Alliance Operafest Concert
– featuring works of Richard Burke and Jake Heggie, with soprano Susan Gonzalez, and pianists Geoffrey Burleson and Noby Ishida - FREE

 


Tues., May 24 @ 7:30 PMLang Recital Hall
B. Mus Recital
Kaitlin McKendry, voice – FREE

 

 

Thurs., June 2 @ 7:00 PM – Lang Recital Hall
What Happens When Composers Make Opera?  An Exploratory Conversation
– Sponsored by Hunter Opera Theatre & The New York Opera Alliance
FREE


To purchase tickets,
please call the Hunter College Box Office at
212-772-4448

Hunter College Music Department
212-772-5020

music@hunter.cuny.edu
www.hunter.cuny.edu/music

 

Back to top

Document Actions
September 2013 »
September
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30
Go to full calendar…
 
Music Department website contact:
Hunter College Music Department 695 Park Avenue 416 Hunter North New York, NY 10065 Fax: 212-772-5022 | Telephone : 212-772-5020 | webmaster