Executive Contact Left



Jennifer J. Raab, President
(212) 772-4242


Senior Administrators

Eija Ayravainen

Vice President for Student Affairs & Dean of Students

(212) 772-4878


Eija Ayravainen is the acting vice president for Student Affairs at Hunter College. Her responsibilities at Hunter College include oversight and development of services for students, including program development in the areas of Student Affairs, Advisement & Counseling, Outreach Programs, College Now, and Career Development & Placement. She also oversees Academic Advising, Day Care services, Athletics, Residence Life, and International Student services.

Holding both a BA and MA degree in Communications from Hunter, Eija Ayravainen has spent much of her professional life at the College. She served as lecturer of interpersonal and media communications, as the director of Freshman and Transfer Programs, and as the Assistant Provost for Undergraduate Students before becoming the Acting Vice President for Student Affairs.


Giancarlo Bonagura

Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

(212) 772-4460

Giancarlo Bonagura is the Vice President of Finance and Administration and Chief Operating Officer (COO) of Hunter College. He is responsible for the planning and administration of operating funds of over $200 million and oversees administration and support services of Facilities Management, Public Safety, Instructional Computing and Information Technology, Human Resources and Payroll, Continuing Education, Central Reservations, Environmental Health and Safety, Budget and Planning, Purchasing, Accounts Payable and Bursar. In addition, Giancarlo oversees the financial management of the Hunter College Foundation.

Most recently, Giancarlo was the Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer at NYU School of Law, where he had principal responsibility for budgeting, planning and investments from 2012 to 2014. Prior to NYU, Giancarlo was Hunter's AVP for Finance & Administration and headed our Business Office from 2007 to 2012. He also has a wealth of experience in city government, having served as Deputy Commissioner in the Department of Transportation from 2002 to 2006, and in a variety of capacities in the Mayor's Office of Management and Budget from 1997 to 2002.

Giancarlo holds a B.A. from New York University and an M.S. from the Milano School for Management and Urban Policy at the New School for Social Research.


John Rose

Dean of Diversity & Compliance

(212) 772-4242


John Rose is responsible for developing and implementing a college-wide program to recruit individuals from underrepresented groups as faculty, senior administrators and staff. He also works closely with student groups to address diversity issues on campus, and is responsible for investigating employee complaints involving alleged discrimination based on protected status.

Rose has had a successful career in the private sector managing a wide variety of human resources and employee relations matters. Previously, he was Vice President for Human Resources at ABC, and prior to that he held the same position at ESPN. From 1994 to 1999, he was the National Basketball Association's Senior Vice President for Player Relations and Administration.

He is a graduate of Hunter College and Harvard Law School.


Dr. Lon Kaufman

Acting Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs



Laura S. Hertzog

Special Counsel to the President & Dean of Faculty and Staff Relations

(212) 772-4220



Anne Lytle

Chief of Staff

(212) 772-3052


Document Actions