Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Psychology » Faculty
Document Actions

Faculty


Faculty
Contact Information
Area of Specialization
Karin Akre
Visiting Assistant Professor
ka542@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1705 West

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Evolution of Animal Behavior, Receiver Psychology, Animal Communication, Psychophysics, Animal Cognition, Sexual Selection

Amber Alliger
Lecturer
a_allige@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 604 North

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Laboratory animal welfare and husbandry.

Braun
Christopher B. Braun
Professor
cbraun@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 605 North
Phone: 212-772-5554

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Sensory Psychology:
Sensory systems in animals, Neural substrates of vibration and sound detection, Sensory variation, Ecology, Evolution
 
Nesha Burghardt
Assistant Professor
nb844@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1047 North

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Neurobiology of mood, anxiety, and eating disorders, Developmental effects of stress, Serotonin and emotional learning


Sheila Chase
MA Program Director, Professor
schase@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 608 North
Phone: 212-772-5617

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience and Cognitive Psychology

Experimental Psychology:
Animal cognition, Memory, Decision processes, Computer models

Martin Chodorow
Professor
martin.chodorow@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 512 Thomas Hunter Hall
Phone: 212-772-5618
Fax: 212-650-3247

Cognitive Psychology

Experimental Cognition:
Models of memory, Psycholinguistics, Computational linguistics
DeFour

Darlene C. Defour
Associate Professor
ddefour@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 738C North
Phone: 212-772-5679
 

Social Psychology

Personality and Social Psychology:
Coping with stress, Psychology of women, Social networks, Black psychology, Culture and psychology

Tracy Dennis
Professor        tracy.dennis@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 636 North
Phone: 212-650-3878

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience, Clinical Psychology, Developmental Psychology, and Cognitive Psychology  and Health Psychology

Clinical and Developmental Psychology:
Emotion regulation, Developmental psychopathology, Affective neuroscience, Parenting and contextual influences

Dawn Dugan
Lecturer
dd552@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 738 North
Phone: 212-396-6597

Clinical

Impact of interparental conflict on parenting practices and communication


Joel Erblich
Associate Professor jerblich@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 628 North

Clinical / Health Psychology

Nicotine dependence, risk for alcoholism, health psychology


Roseanne Flores
Associate Professor rflores@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 736B North
Phone: 212-650-3537
Lab phone: 212-650-3538

Developmental Psychology

Lanuage acquisition
Cognitive development
Children and poverty
Children and culture
Maria A. Giammarella
Associate Professor  arodrigu@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1006 East
Phone: 212-772-5754

Social Psychology/ Health Psychology

Counseling Psychology, Education and Career Development, Multiculturalism, Prevention and Health

Sarit Golub
Professor       sarit.golub@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 714 North
Phone: 212-396-6304

Social Psychology/ Health Psychology

Social, cognitive and emotional factors that influence health behavior, with special emphasis on the interaction between behavior and the formation and maintenance of individual identity

James Gordon
Professor
jgordon@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 604 North
Phone: 212-772-5619
 

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Visual psychophysiology, Color vision, Pattern vision, Human visual development

Cheryl Harding
Professor
harding@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 631 North
Phone: 212-772-5047

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Behavioral Endocrinology:
Effects of mold exposure on immune activation, neuroplasticity, and behavior

Mark E. Hauber
Professor mark.hauber@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 628C North
Phone: 212-396-6442

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Animal behavior and conservation, Social recognition systems, Conservation, Neuroethology of sound and colour perception
 

Michael Hoyt
Assistant Professor
michael.hoyt@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 738 North

Clinical/ Health Psychology

Stress and Coping Processes, Psychological Adjustment to Chronic Illness, Biobehavioral Mechanisms of Psychological Process and Treatment


Rebecca Farmer Huselid
Associate Professor rhuselid@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 621 North
Phone: 212-772-5561 

Social Psychology and Health Psychology

Social Psychology:
Effects of social identity on health and academic achievement, Effects of race, gender, and immigration on stress, psychological adjustment, substance use and abuse

Shirzad Jenab
Professor
sjenab@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 602 North
Phone: 212-772-5732

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Drugs of Abuse, Gene expression, Neurochemistry and Neuropharmacology, CNS degenerative diseases
 

Ellen Tobey Klass
Associate Professor eklass@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 626 North
Phone: 212-650-3240

Clinical Psychology

Clinical Psychology:
Guilt, Morality, Honesty










Joseph Lao
Senior Lecturer
jla0017@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 738 North
Phone: 212-396-6173

Developmental Psychology

Parenting Skills, Cognitive Development


Michael J. Lewis
Professor
mlewis@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 619 North
Phone: 212-772-5280
 

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Behavioral Neuroscience:
Neurobiology of motivation and substance abuse, Alcohol dependence and eating disorder

Victoria Luine
Distinguished Professor vluine@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 629A North
Phone: 212-772-4223

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Behavioral Endocrinology:
Neurochemistry of hormone-dependent sexual behavior, Hormonal influences on age-related memory loss
 
Amber J. Martin
Lecturer
am2631@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 610 North

Cognitive Psychology and Developmental Psychology

Spatial language and spatial cognition, sign language acquisition, effects of delayed first language acquisition








Douglas Mennin
Professor              dmennin@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 742 North
Phone: 212-772-5567

Clinical Psychology/ Health Psychology

Clinical Psychology:
Generalized anxiety disorder
Major depression
Emotion Regulation
Psychophysiology
Biobehavioral mechanisms of treatment


Regina Miranda
Associate Professor regina.miranda@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 734 North
Phone: 212-772-4809

Clinical Psychology and Cognitive Psychology and Health Psychology

Clinical Psychology:
Adolescent depression and suicide, Hopelessness, Depressive future-event schemas, the social-cognitive process of transference in depression

Peter Moller
ABC MA Program Director, Professor
pmoller@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 620 North
Phone: 212-772-5197

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Animal Behavior:
Multisensory integration, Electrolocation & electrocommunication in electric fish, Behavioral physiology, Behavioral endocrinology

Jeffrey T. Parsons
Distinguished Professor jeffrey.parsons@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 611 North
Phone: 212-772-5533
CHEST Phone: 212-206-7919 x900
Fax: 212-206-7994

Social Psychology and Developmental Psychology and Health Psychology

Adolescent development, Risk taking, HIV/AIDS prevention, Health psychology, Gay/lesbian issues, Substance abuse, Sexual behavior
Prasada Sandeep Prasada
Professor, MA Program Director
sprasada@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 506 Thomas Hunter Hall
Phone: 212-772-5677

Cognitive Psychology and Developmental Psychology

Conceptual & lexical representation in mind and brain, Language acquisition

Thomas Preuss
Professor                tpreuss@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 626A North
Phone: 212-396-6358

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Neuroethology of escape behavior; Neural decision making, Neural plasticity, Sensorimotor integration of biological relevant visual and auditory inputs
 

Vanya Quiñones-Jenab
Professor
vaquinon@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-4640

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Drug abuse effects on maternal behaviors and CNS / endocrine mechanism, Ovarian hormones and pain pathways

Vita C. Rabinowitz
Professor, Provost
vita.rabinowitz@hunter.cuny.edu

Social Psychology

Gender issues in health, coping, justice and helping, health

Diana Reiss
Professor
diana.reiss@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 606 North
Phone: 212-650-3432

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience and Cognitive Psychology

Experimental Psychology:
Comparative cognition, Animal behavior and communication, Marine mammal cognition

Salomon Rettig
Emeritus Professor
srettig@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 611 North

Social Psychology

Philosophy of science in psychology; Small groups (group therapy), Ethical decision making
 

Tracey Revenson
Professor
Office: 1201 East
Phone: 212 396-6769

Health Psychology and Social Psychology

Stress and Coping, Adaptation to chronic illness, particularly cancer, Social support, Psychological measurement
Kim Robinson
Lecturer
kr593@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 738 North
Phone: 212-396-6591

Social Psychology and Developmental Psychology

The effects on minority stress on psychological well-being and health behaviors.

Glenn Schafe
Professor
Office: 602 North
glenn.schafe@hunter.cuny.edu

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Neurobiological substrates of emotional learning and memory, fear, anxiety and stress   
Stefan Schlussman
Lecturer
Office: 1607 West
sschluss@hunter.cuny.edu

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Primary research interests have used animal models to focus on the question of why some individuals are more vulnerable to the effects of drug abuse than are others. 

Peter Serrano
Associate Professor serrano@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 619 North
Phone: 212-772-5610

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Long-Term Potentiation, Depression and Memory, Developmental Psychobiology and Learning Disorders, Neural Mechanisms of Stress, Fear and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

Michael Siller
Assistant Professor msiller@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 634 North
Phone: 212-772-4477

Developmental Psychology

Development of early social cognition and language, Parent-child communication, Children with autism 
Tyrel Starks
Assistant Professor
tstarks@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1314 West

Clinical/ Health Psychology

Substance use and sexual health in sexual minority populations, with a particular emphasis on relationship factors associated with sexual health in gay and bisexual men


Tricia Striano
Professor tricia.striano@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 507A Thomas Hunter Hall
Phone: 212-772-5678
 

Cognitive Psychology and Developmental Psychology and Health Psychology

Infant development, Autism, Social cognition
 







Ofer Tchernichovski
Professor otcherni@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 621 North
Phone: 212-396-6740

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Mechanisms of vocal learning



Virginia Valian
Distinguished Professor
virginia.valian@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 510 Thomas Hunter Hall
Phone: 212-772-5557
Fax: 212-650-3247

Cognition, Language, and Development

First and second language acquisition, sex differences in cognition and achievement, gender equity
Mariann Weierich
Assistant Professor
mariann.weierich@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 627B North
Phone: 212-396-6375
Fax: 212-772-5620

Biopsychology/ Behavioral Neuroscience, Clinical Psychology and Cognitive Psychology

Neurobiology of stress, trauma, PTSD, anxiety, attention, neuroimaging, neuroendocrinology
Brooke Wells
Assistant Professor 
bwells@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1043 North

 Social Psychology/ Health Psychology

Health behavior and decision-making within the developmental context of emerging adulthood

Jason Young
Associate Professor jason.young@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 738 North
Phone: 212-772-5566
 

Social Psychology and Health Psychology

Attitudes and persuasion, Political psychology, Media influence, Evolutionary psychology

H. Phillip Zeigler
Distinguished Professor hzeigler@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 626 North
Phone: 212-772-5363

Biopsychology / Behavioral Neuroscience

Neuroethology of movement, Sensory processing and motor control of active touch, Development of a mobile sensory system