DRAFT 12/04/2019

RESOLUTIONS FOR CONSIDERATION BY THE SENATE ON THE GOVERNANCE OF PROGRAMS AND INTERDISCIPLINARY STRUCTURES

Resolution I: Ensuring Faculty Governance of Curricula Offered Independently of Departments

Whereas the BOT Statement on the Governance of the University states, "Subject to the Board of Trustees, the faculty is primarily responsible for academic matters, including the criteria for admission and retention of students, promulgation of rules concerning attendance, the awarding of credit and degrees, the quality of teaching, research and the guidance of students, and the general quality and advancement of the academic program of the college. The responsibility for the academic program extends to the personnel responsible for that program and, therefore, includes the selection, retention, promotion and quality of the faculty" (BTM,1971,02-09,001, p.22), and

Whereas, with regard to the academic program of the college, the CUNY Bylaws, Article IX states that departments "subject to the approval of the faculty or faculty council, where existent, and subject to these bylaws, shall have control of the educational policies of the department through the vote of all its members who have faculty rank or faculty status" (Article IX, 9.1.a)¹ and that each department "shall have the fullest measure of autonomy consistent with the maintenance of general educational policy" (Article IX, 9.1.g), while requiring that a department have at least

- a committee on personnel and budget, consisting of five tenure-track faculty, four of whom are tenured including the Chair, elected by tenure-track members of the department (Article IX, 9.1.a and e);
- an elected Chair, who "shall be the executive officer of his/her department and shall carry out the department's policies" (Article IX, 9.3.a);
- and further,

Whereas the Hunter College Governance Charter requires a department's bylaws to provide for "a department policy committee or committees" (Article XI, section 1) and "shall also provide for the review of curriculum proposals" (Article XI, section 2); and

Whereas through this resolution the Senate is to provide general policy, currently lacking, that would ensure analogous faculty autonomy over credit-bearing curricula including courses, minors, certificates, and degrees when run independently of departmental curriculum or policy committees, and independently of departmental P&B committees (as far as permitted by the negotiated contract and the CUNY Bylaws and Manual of General Policy), and

Whereas, by Article VI, 6.4.b of the CUNY Bylaws, "Except for the appointment of persons whose sole educational duties shall be administrative, all original appointments to the instructional staff shall be made to a department," and, by the negotiated PSC-CUNY contract (Article 18), faculty evaluation and reappointment to the teaching faculty is to be done through departments, thus,

¹ Faculty holding titles of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, and Professor have faculty rank; those holding titles of Instructor, Lecturer or Doctoral Lecturer (full time), Distinguished Lecturer or Clinical Professor have faculty status.

RESOLVED, That, when credit-bearing curricula, minors, certificates, and degrees are offered independently of departments, they shall be controlled by a unit of full-time teaching faculty with departmental appointments who have expertise relevant to the unit's curriculum, consisting of at least three appointed to lines bearing tenure (Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor) or a Certificate of Continued Employment (CCE) (Lecturer, Doctoral Lecturer). Full-time faculty on non-tenure or non-CCE bearing lines (e.g. Distinguished Lecturer, Clinical Professor) may in part constitute the unit so long as the number of tenure- or CCE-line faculty members constitute at least two-thirds of the membership. The unit shall operate under unit-approved bylaws that provide for, at a minimum, (1) and (2) below:

(1) a committee(s) whose responsibilities shall include the development, review, assessment, and approval of the credit-bearing curriculum offered by the unit (including courses, minors, certificates, majors, and degrees), the approval of policies involved in the unit's student advising, and the assurance of the quality of instruction. The committee(s) may be identical to the unit itself or may consist in a subgroup of the unit through election. Full-time faculty on non-tenure or non-CCE bearing lines may serve as members of a committee so long as the number of tenure-track or CCE-line faculty members is greater than a majority, as specified by the unit.

(2) the selection by the unit of leadership to carry out the policies approved by the unit, subject to the approval of the Provost and for a set term. The role of the unit leader(s) should be well-defined. The unit's leadership shall be a member(s) of the teaching faculty with expertise relevant to the unit's curriculum and have a full-time faculty appointment(s) in a department.

Resolution II: The Establishment of By-laws for Non-Departmental Academic Units

RESOLVED, That once approved by the Hunter College Senate, a new non-departmental academic unit shall submit by-laws within two years, consistent with its approved governance plan, for approval by the Senate Committee on Governance and for adoption by the Senate.

RESOLVED, That non-departmental academic units existing as of Spring 2020 shall work with the Senate Committee on Governance to formulate and submit by-laws within two years for approval by the Committee on Governance and adoption by the Hunter College Senate.