## MINUTES Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 4 November 1998

1		The 272nd masting of the Hunter College Senate was convened at 4:20 DM in Deem W714		
1 2		The 372nd meeting of the Hunter College Senate was convened at 4:20 PM in Room W714.		
3 4	Presiding:	Pamela Mills, Chair		
5 6	Attendance:	The elected members of the Senate with the exception of those listed in Appendix I.		
7 8	Agenda:	The agenda was adopted as distributed.		
9 10	Report by the President:	A summary statement of President Caputo's report to the Senate is attached as Appendix II.		
11 12	Report by the	The Chair presented the report as follows:		
13 14	Administrative Committee:	Election of Search Committee for Dean of Research		
14	Committee.	Professor Mills presented the "Recommended Procedures for Electing Search Committee for Dean of		
16		Research" as distributed. The "Procedures" were adopted.		
17 18		She then presented the following list of nominees for the Search Committee for Dean of Research:		
19 20		Chair Panel: Associate Provost Steve Zoloth		
20 21		Chan Faner. Associate Provost Sieve Zolotti		
22		Member-Panel:		
23 24		Student Nominees:	Tony Berkel (Political Science Major)	
25			Carlo Casulo (Chemistry Major)	
26 27			Marsha Clark (Social Work – Graduate)	
27			Lauren Schmidt (COMSC – Graduate)	
29		Staff Nominee:	Robert Buckley, Director, Research Administration	
30				
31 32		Faculty Nominees:	<u>Humanities &amp; Arts</u> Harry Rodriguez (Black & Puerto Rican Studies)	
33			Giuseppe DiScipio (Romance Languages)	
34			Ivone Margulies (Film & Media Studies)	
35 36			Social Sciences:	
37			Michael Wood (Sociology)	
38			Timothy Bromage (Anthropology)	
39 40			Victoria Luine (Psychology)	
40 41			Sciences & Mathematics:	
42		Marie Filbin (Biological Sciences)		
43		Maria Tomasz (Chemistry)		
44 45		Sean Ahern (Gerography) Marten denBoer (Physics & Astronomy)		
46				
47			School of Education:	
48 49		Anne Ediger (Curriculum & Teaching) Rena Subotnik (Educational Foundations}		
50		Thomas McIntyre (Special Education)		
51				
52 53			<u>Schools of Health Professions, Social Work, Library:</u> Robert Laurich (Library)	
55 54		Anthony Sainz (School of Social Work)		
55			Kathleen Nokes (School of Nursing)	
56 57			Suzanne Babyar (School of Health Sciences)	
58		It was moved that the nor	mination for Chair and the nominations for students and staff for the	
59		memberpanel be approved for submission to the President. The motion carried.		
60				
61 62		Written ballots were distributed for the election of eight faculty representatives to the memberpanel.		
63		While awaiting the results of voting by written ballot, the Senate moved on to the next item of business.		
64 65				
65 66		<u>Approved Curriculum Changes</u> The following curriculum changes, as listed in the Report dated 4 November 1998, had been approved		
67		as per Senate resolution and were distributed for the Senate's information: Items US-1069 (Romance		
68 60			k & Puerto Rican Studies), US-1068, US-1070, US-1071, US-1072A, US-	
69 70		10/4, US-10/5, US-1076, U	JS-1077, and US-1078 (Film & Media Studies).	
10				

71	Minutes Page					
72	Meeting of the Hu	nter College Senate				
73	4 November 1998					
74						
75						
76		Special Election to Fill Vacant Seats on the Senate				
77 79		Professor Mills presented the nomination of Astrid Jervis (Mathematics Major) to fill one of the vacant				
78 79		seats reserved for students.				
79 80		It was moved that the nomination be approved. The nomination carried.				
80 81		It was moved that the nonlination be approved. The	e nonimation carried.			
82	Committee	Nominating Committee				
82	Reports:		presented the Report dated 4 November 1998 as			
84	Reports.	Dr. Marilyn Rothschild, Chair of the Committee, presented the Report dated 4 November 1998, as distributed. She informed the Senate that the nomination of Prof. Michael Wood (Sociology) for the				
85		vacant seats reserved for a faculty member from Social Sciences on the Graduate Academic				
86		Requirements Committee is added to the Report.				
87		1				
88		It was moved that the nominations be approved as	a slate. The motion carried and the following were			
89		elected:	č			
90						
91		Undergraduate Course of Study Committee				
92		Faculty from Education: D	avid Hodges (Educational Foundations			
93						
94		Graduate Course of Study Committee				
95		Student: C	arolyn Gerstel (Graduate-Social Research)			
96						
97		Budget Committee:				
98		Student: Jo	ose Muniz (Undeclared)			
99						
100		Select Committee on Distribution Requirement				
101		Student: A	strid Jervis (Mathematics)			
102						
103		Teacher Evaluations Committee				
104		Student: Ju	iliet Chin (Psychology)			
105						
106		Graduate Academic Requirements Committee	(1,1,1,1) We set $(0,1,1,1,1)$			
107		Faculty from Social sciences: M	lichael Wood (Sociology)			
108 109		<b>Report by the Acting Dean of Research</b>				
109		A summary statement of Professor Goldsmith's repo	ort is attached as Appendix III			
111		A summary statement of Professor Goldsmith's repo	on is attached as Appendix III.			
112		At 5.20 PM it was moved that the meeting be ad	iourned. The motion carried and the meeting was			
112		At 5:20 PM it was moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried and the meeting was adjourned, while the counting of ballots cast for faculty representatives for the Search Committee for				
114		Dean of Research continued.	active representatives for the Sector committee for			
115		Dean of Research continued.				
116		Announcement of Election Results – Search Con	nmittee for Dean of Research			
117		At 5:55 PM Professor Mills announced that voting by written ballot produced the following results: A				
118		total number of 70 ballots were cast and one ballot was declared invalid. The following were elected:				
119			6			
120		Giuseppe Di Scipo (Romance Languages)	47 votes			
121		Harry Rodriguez (Black & Puerto Rican Studie	es) 35 votes			
122		Maria Tomasz (Chemistry	41 votes			
123		Marie Filbin (Biological Sciences)	38 votes			
124		Michael Wood (Sociology)	35 votes			
125		Rena Subotnik (Educational Foundations)	37 votes			
126		Robert Laurich (Library)	31 votes			
127		Timothy Bromage (Anthropology)	26 votes*			
128		Kathleen Nokes (School of Nursing)	26 votes*			
129						
130		Because of a tie-vote (*) the names of nine candidates will be submitted to the President.				
131						
132						
133						
134		Respectfully submitted,				
135						
136						
137		~ · · ·	II suggeste a			
138		Barbara L.	Hampton,			
139		Secretary				