Phone: 772-4200

Room 1018 East Building

MINUTES

Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 4 April 2012

The 534th meeting of the Hunter College Senate was convened at 3:58 PM in Room W714. 1 2 3 **Presiding:** Andy Lall, Vice Chair 4 5 Attendance: The elected members of the Senate with the exception of those listed in Appendix I. 6 7 Alternate Senators were formally seated in accordance with the procedures approved by the 8 Senate, and clickers were distributed to them. 9 The minutes from February 22nd and March 14th were approved as distributed. 10 **Minutes:** 11 12 Report by the There was no report. 13 **President:** 14 15 The Vice Chair presented the report as follows: Report by the 16 **Administrative** 17 Committee: a) Special Senate Election for Vacant At-large Seats In accordance with Article IV, 2H.i & ii of the Charter for a Governance of Hunter College, 18 19 the Administrative Committee presented the names of all nominees received to date: 20 21 Student: Eileen Chen (Psychology) 22 Alexcia Foster (Theatre & Art Studio) 23 Benedict Joson (Political Science) 24 25 Faculty: Paul Feinstein (Biology) 26 27 It was moved that the Secretary be instructed to cast a single ballot in favor of the nominees. 28 The motion was approved by voice vote without dissent. 29 30 b) Approved Curriculum Changes The following curriculum changes as listed in the Report dated 4 April 2012 have been 31 approved as per Senate resolution and are submitted for the Senate's information: Items UR-32 33 1748 (Computer Science), UR-1756 (Art), UR-1757 (German), UR-1758 (Sociology), UR-34 1759 (Chemistry), UR-1760 (English). 35 36 c) Search Committee for Vice President for Development 37 The list of nominees up-to-date and College-Wide Search Procedures were distributed. 38 Election of the nominees has been moved to the April 18th Senate meeting. 39 40 **Undergraduate Course of Study Committee** Committee 41 Report: 42 43 "Resolution Re: Revised Guidelines for Assigning "W" Designation for Writing Intensive

Courses" and "Report Re: Library Proposals" were withdrawn from the agenda.

52 **Minutes** Page 5519 53 **Meeting of the Hunter College Senate** 54 4 April 2012 55 56 **Nominating Committee** 57 The Nominating Committee is submitting the following nominations for seats currently vacant on 58 Senate Committees: 59 **Departmental Governance Committee** 60 Faculty Alternate: Kenya Beard (Nursing) 61 62 63 2. Grade Appeals Committee 64 Faculty Alternate: Kenya Beard (Nursing) 65 **Committee on Academic Freedom** 66 Student: Eamon Pickard 67 68 69 It was moved that the Secretary be instructed to cast a single ballot in favor of the nominees. The 70 motion was approved by voice vote without dissent. 71 72 73 It was moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 74 4:05 PM. 75 76 77 Respectfully submitted, 78 79 80 81 82 Lisa Marie Anderson 83 Secretary

Page 5520

APPENDIX I

The following members were noted as absent from the meeting

Faculty

Africana&PR/Latino Studies Edgardo Melendez (A)

Milagros Denis-Rosario (A) "E"

Anthropology Judith Friedlander (A)

Marc Edelman (A) Ida Susser

Carrie Moyer Art

Richard Stapleford

Biological Sciences Paul Feinstein

Gary Quigley (A) Chemistry

Pamela Mills (A) William Sweeney

Classical & Oriental Studies Joanne Spurza

Computer Science Felisa Vasquez-Abad

Saad Mneimeh (A) Curriculum & Teaching Jody Polleck (A)

Melissa Schieble (A)

Jason Wirtz

Steve DeMeo

Economics Timothy Goodspeed (A)

Howard Chernick

Avi Liveson

Educational Foundations

Arnold Wolf (A)

Cynthia Walley

John Keegan (A) Chong Chon-Smith

English Amy Robbins Film & Media

Michael Gitlin

Geography Wenge Ni-Meister (A)

Allan Frei (A)

Traci Warkentin

Daniel Hurewitz (A) History

Richard Belsky (A)

Mathematics & Statistics Verna Segarra (A)

Maura Donohue (A) Music

Michele Cabrini (A) David Keepnews Nursing

Terry Yannaco (A)

Philosophy Omar Dahbour (A)

Laura Keating

Physics & Astronomy Marilyn Rothschild Noel Goddard (A)

Robyn Marasco Political Science

Robert Jenkins (A)

Charles Tien (A)

Tricia Striano (A) Psychology

Peter Moller (A)

SEEK Maria Rodriguez "E"

Sandra Granizo Cruz (A)

School of Social Work Nancy Giunta (A)

Michael Lewis

Marina Lalayants (A) Sociology

Joong-Hwan Oh (A)

Special Education David Conner (A)

Angela Mouzakitis "E"

Student Services Madlyn Stokely Stanley Moses **Urban Affairs**

Urban Public Health Lydia Isaac (A) Lecturers and

Part-Time Faculty

Barbara Barone (Math&Stat) "E"

Ashley Vaught (Philosophy)

Christa Acampora (Philosophy)

Barbara Sproul (Religion)

Carmela Scala (Romance Languages)

Bernadette McCauley (History)

Claus Mueller (Sociology) "E"

Administration

Dean David Steiner (A)

Ex-Officio

Ranette Garcia, USG Pres.

Sonya Acevedo, CLT Council Pres.

Theodore Ryo, GSA Pres.

Patricia Rudden, Alumni Assoc.

Students

Nada Aziz (Geography)

Michael Green (Economics)

Rochelle Thewet (Philosophy)

Loranzo Donvito (Romance Lang.)

Sarah Alshawish (Bio)

Maggi Delgado (Film & Media)

Matthew Evanusa (Music)

Ambalika Boodrham (THHP)

Krishan Sharma

Alexander Lemell (Philosophy)

Jarret Freeman (undecl.)

Eli Cohen

Raoul Valencia (undecl)

Shaun Persaud (English)

Umila Singh (Economics)

Patricia Colon (Economics)

Deodat Ruplall (Comp Sci)

Kevon Rankin (Poli Sci)

Karen Ciego (SW)

Ireina Cupeles (SEEK)

Marcin Wisniewski (Music Grad)

Runako Taylor (Grad. Classics)

Meg Krietsch (Anthopology)

Raya Harris (undecl.)

Will Lewis

Anna Kovalevska

Caroline Park

George Pierrakeas

Chaya Shagalov (SW)

Jude Cyril Buenasedo

Eamon Pickard (Physics) Zhang Chong Chen

Dennis Luo

Yan Zeng (English)

Shaochun Chao (undecl.)

Andrea Montesdeoca (undecl.)