Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Senate » Senate Committees » Committee on the Budget
Document Actions

Committee on the Budget


Annually develop the guidelines which, on review by the Senate and approved by the President of Hunter College, will be followed by the departments in the preparation of their projected budgets. It will reivew the resulting consolidated annual budget of the College and report on it to the Senate. In addition, it will advise the President, at the latter's discreation, on the apportionment of instructional resources, budget, and space allocated to the College.


Designated Voting Members

  • Chair
  • 1 Faculty member from each division and School of Social Work
  • Director of of SEEK or designee 
  • 2 Students 
  • 2 Student Alternates

Ex-officio members

  • Chief Academic Officer
  • Vice President for Administration and designee

Current memberships

  • Prof. Frank Gardella, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Prof. Howard Chernick, Economics
  • Prof. William Sakas*, Computer Science
  • Prof. Steve Gorelick, Film and Media
  • Prof. Susan Pivko, Health and Sciences
  • Prof. Sarah-Jane Dodd, School of Social Work
  • Prof. Patricia Martin, Director of SEEK designee
  • Prof. Joseph Lao, Psychology
  • Prof. Jason Young*, Psychology
  • Student, Shaun Persaud, English
  • Student, Patricia Colon, Economics
  • Student Alternates, Jason Perper, Accounting
  • Student, Benedict Joson, Political Science


  • Vita Rabinowitz, Provost
  • Sharon Neill, Vice President for Administration

*subject to future ratification by the Nominating Committee and the Hunter College Senate