Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Masterlinks
You are here: Home Sociology Faculty Part-Time Faculty

Part-Time Faculty

 

Name Email
Andrew Korall akorall@hunter.cuny.edu
Albert Lobo de la Tierra albertdelatierra@gmail.com
Amy Stuart astuar@hunter.cuny.edu
Brenda Gambol bgambol@gc.cuny.edu
Benjamin Haber bhaber@gc.cuny.edu
Kate Binh Pok-Carabalona kate.pok@hunter.cuny.edu
Brenden Beck bbeck@gc.cuny.edu
Calvin Smiley csmiley@hunter.cuny.edu
Daniel Bronstein dmbronstein@me.com
Danielle Jackson dj56@hunter.cuny.edu
Erin Siodmak esiodmak@gc.cuny.edu
Gustavo Gomez gustavo.gomez@gmail.com
Howard Allen Elterman he71@hunter.cuny.edu
Hyein Lee hl343@hunter.cuny.edu
Jessica Greenwalt jessica.c.greenwalt@gmail.com
Jan Haldipur jhaldipur@gc.cuny.edu
Joshua Scanne jscannell@gmail.com
Jacob Lederman jlederma@hunter.cuny.edu
Joni Russell joni.hrussell@gmail.com
J. Heather Wiley jwi0022@hunter.cuny.edu
Linda Catalano LRC10@earthlink.net
Lisa Paisley-Cleveland lpaisle@hunter.cuny.edu
Marzena Marzouk marzenamarzouk@gmail.com
Mercela Gonzalez mgonzalez1@gc.cuny.edu
Marisa Tramontano marisatramontano@gmail.com
Matthew Block mblock1@gmail.com
Omar Montana omontana@gradcenter.cuny.edu
Patricia Dempsey pdempsey@hunter.cuny.edu
Pelagia Papazahariou ppapazah@aol.com
Robyn Brown-Manning rbrownmanning@aol.com
Seth Cohen smcohe@hunter.cuny.edu
Saif Zureikat saifzureikat123@gmail.com
Scott Lizama lizamascott@gmail.com
Shirley Leyro sleyro@hunter.cuny.edu
Sanja Trpkovic strpkovi@hunter.cuny.edu
Sung-Yeon Gross dgkang@aol.com
Tom Buechele tbuechele@gc.cuny.edu
Vadricka Etienne vetienne@gc.cuny.edu
Vanessa Paul vpaul@gc.cuny.edu

Part Time Faculty Biographies

Omar Montana is a critical sociologist from Queens. CUNY is his alma mater and he has proudly taught sociology since 2013. Growing up in spaces of marginality and privilege in New York City, he became keenly engaged by questions and dynamics of power/powerlessness in American social life that are rooted in structures of capitalism, systemic racism, and patriarchy. His main goal in life is to foster critical thinking and a passion for questioning structures of power amongst his students with the aim of constructing a future characterized by respect and inclusion. He loves teaching Introduction to Sociology, Sociological Theory, Urban Sociology, and Criminology.

 

Samuel Stabler teaches sociological theory, methods, and humor at Hunter. His research examines how moral ideals shape, and are shaped by, conflicts surrounding the built environment, infrastructural development, and the management of religious diversity. By theorizing how moral landscapes are transformed into material settings, his research contributes to enduring debates in the sociology of religion, cultural sociology, and comparative-historical sociology. Beyond this, in three collaborative projects, he examines the moral implications of routine sociological debate, the links between humor and sociology, and how the culture of intensive parenting shapes demographic outcomes.

 

Howard Allen Elterman  has his MA and PhD in Sociology are from New York University. He has taught a wide variety of Sociology courses at a number of colleges and universities, including Tufts, NYU, Drew University and Baruch College.  Courses he has taught at Hunter College include Classical Sociological Theory, Urban Sociology, Social Movements and Social Change, Sociology of Popular Culture, and Sociology of Film.   

Document Actions
Tweets by @HunterSociology

Faculty Publications

Across Generations
Building Popular Power
Fighting To Learn
High Profile Crimes
New York and Amsterdam
One Out of These
Opting Out
Questioning The Veil
Sadomasochism In Everyday Life
Seeing The Light
Sewing Women
Strangers No More
The Unhappy Divorce of Sociology and Psychoanalysis
Torture Twilight of Empire
Immigration and Social Capital in the Age of Social Media
A Dream Denied
Being a Scholar in the Digital Era
Foucault's Orient
Oh Book Cover
Opting In
 
Sociology website feedback:
West Building Room 1622
(212) 772-5585 | email us
HUNTER COLLEGE
695 Park Ave
NY, NY 10065
212.772.4000