Faculty Directory

Silberman’s faculty members are distinguished as teachers, scholars, trainers, clinicians, consultants, program evaluators, researchers, and community organizers. They are active in a wide range of agencies and civic organizations locally and globally. We are proud that our faculty is one of the most diverse social work faculties in the country. Please click on the faculty name to view their full profile.

Click here for the Silberman Senior Staff Directory.

Mimi Abramovitz, D.S.W., Bertha Capen Reynolds Professor of Social Work
Areas of Expertise: History US Welfare State The Impact of Neoliberalism on the US Welfare State; Contemporary Social Welfare Policy Issues; Low Income Women's Activism; and Class, Race, Gender and Social Welfare Policy
Full Profile

iabramov@hunter.cuny.edu

Robert Abramovitz, M.D., Distinguished Lecturer and  Co-Director of the National Center for Social Work Trauma Education and Workforce Development
Areas of Expertise: Child Trauma; Impact of Adversity: Violence, Poverty, and Racism on Individuals, Communities, and Organizations; Individual and Community Resilience; Field Effectiveness Studies of Innovative Service Programs; Academic/Community Research Partnerships; and Effects of Media on Children
Full Profile
r.abramovitz@gmail.com

Samuel R. Aymer, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Intimate Partner Abuse; Trauma/Community Violence; Mental Health/Clinical Practice; Application of Psychodynamic Theories in Clinical Practice with Diverse Client Populations; and Clinical Practice with Men and Adolescent Males
Full Profile
saymer@hunter.cuny.edu

James A. Blackburn, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Gerontology and Family Development Across the Life-Span
Full Profile
james.blackburn@hunter.cuny.edu

Martha Bragin, Ph.D., LCSW, Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Psychosocial interventions that support resilience in communities affected by conflict, disaster and adversity, building locality based social work capacity in countries in crisis, participatory research methods, and developmentally and culturally informed interventions
Full Profile
mbragin@hunter.cuny.edu

Stephen Burghardt, Ph.D.,Professor
Areas of Expertise: Organizational Change; Neighborhood-Based Collaborations; and Leadership Development

Full Profile

sburghar@hunter.cuny.edu

Mary M. Cavanaugh, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Intimate Partner Violence; Prevention for Males at Risk of Violence; Domestic Violence Prevention and Intervention; Batterers Intervention; and Mental Health
Full Profile

mary.cavanaugh@hunter.cuny.edu

Irene Chung, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Asian Americans: Indigenous Practice; Mental Health; and Suicidology

Full Profile

ichung@hunter.cuny.edu

Elizabeth Danto, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Historical Research Methods; History of Urban Mental Health; and Postmodernism in Social Work

Full Profile

edanto@hunter.cuny.edu

Patricia L. Dempsey, D.S.W., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Child Abuse and Neglect Treatment and Prevention; Adolescent Partner Violence; Teen Pregnancy and Prevention; Clinical Practice with Urban Youth and Families; and Adolescent Sexuality

Full Profile

pdempsey@hunter.cuny.edu

Sarah-Jane Dodd, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Social Work Ethics; Social Welfare Policy; LGBT Policy and Practice Issues; Practice-Based Research; and Program Evaluation
Full Profile
sdodd@hunter.cuny.edu

Ilze Earner, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Child Welfare and Immigration
Full Profile

iearner@hunter.cuny.edu

Irwin Epstein, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Practice-Research Integration and Research Utilization
Full Profile
iepstein@hunter.cuny.edu

Michael Fabricant, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Housing and Homelessness; The Political Economy and Culture of Non Profits; Juvenile Delinquency; Urban Public Education; Community and Labor Organizing; and Qualitative Research
Full Profile
mfabrica@hunter.cuny.edu

Kristin M. Ferguson-Colvin, Ph.D.,Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Homeless and Street-living Youths; Vocational Intervention Development with Homeless Youths; Social Enterprises; International Social Work and Social Development; and Social Capital
Full Profile
kferg@hunter.cuny.edu

Daniel Gardner, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Social Gerontology, Palliative and End-of-Life Care, Psychosocial Oncology, Family Healthcare Decision-Making, and Health and Mental Health Policy
Full Profile

dgardn@hunter.cuny.edu

Caroline Rosenthal Gelman, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Caregiving; Supportive Intervention for Caregivers; Social Work Practice with Latinos; Aging; and Use of Technology in Pedagogy

Full Profile

cgelman@hunter.cuny.edu

Nancy Giunta, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Aging and Community; Long Term Care Policy; Home and Community-Based Service System; and Collaborative Systems Change

Full Profile

nancy.giunta@hunter.cuny.edu

Manny J. Gonzalez, D.S.W., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Mental Health/Mental Illness; Application of Developmental and Psychodynamic Theories to Contemporary Clinical Practice; Health and Psychological Well-Being of Hispanics in the United States; Impact of Parental Mental Illness on Children; and Child and Adolescent Psychopathology

Full Profile

manny.gonzalez@hunter.cuny.edu

Harriet Goodman, D.S.W., Associate Professor
Areas or Expertise:
Distance Education; Child Welfare; Pedagogy of Research; Qualitative Research Methods; and Evidence Based Practice
Full Profile

hgoodman@hunter.cuny.edu

Bernadette Hadden, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: HIV and AIDS Prevention Interventions Among Persons of Color; Program Evaluation of Non-profit Organizations; and Providing Training to Community-based Organizations in HIV Prevention

Full Profile

bhadden@hunter.cuny.edu

Dan Herman, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Dean for Scholarship & Research Areas of Expertise: Mental Health Services Research; Intervention Research; Severe Mental Illness; and Homelessness
Full Profile

daniel.herman@hunter.cuny.edu

Paul Kurzman, Ph.D.,Professor
Areas of Expertise: Management of Public & Nonprofit Organizations; Occupational Social Work Policy and Practice; Ethical and Risk-Management Issues in Professional Practice; Employee Assistance Program Effectiveness and Impact of Licensing on Social Workers and Social Agencies

Full Profile

pkurzman@hunter.cuny.edu

Kenny Kwong, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Culture, immigration, substance abuse, health, & metal health in the Asian American community; Reverse-migration separation and its effects upon Chinese immigrant parents and children and Practice-based research in health disparity
Full Profile
kkwong@hunter.cuny.edu

Marina Lalayants, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Child Welfare in Developing Countries; Case Consultation in Child Protection; Organizational Management; and Program Evaluation
Full Profile
mlalayan@hunter.cuny.edu

Michael A. Lewis, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Quantitative Methods, Social Policy and Civic Engagement

Full Profile

michael.a.lewis@hunter.cuny.edu

Gerald P. Mallon, D.S.W., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Child Welfare; Policy Development and Analysis with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People and Practice with Children, Youth, and Families
Full Profile
gmallon@hunter.cuny.edu

James M. Mandiberg, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Social Enterprise, Social Entrepreneurship, Social Innovation, Social Movement Studies, Community and Economic Development, and Social Sector Planning and Development
Full Profile
jm945@hunter.cuny.edu

Terry Mizrahi, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Interdisciplinary Collaboration; Community Organizing; Social Work and Health Care; Social Work and Activism; and Coalition Building

Full Profile

tmizrahi@hunter.cuny.edu

Jacqueline B. Mondros, D.S.W., Dean and Professor
Areas of Expertise: Community Organization, Planning, and Development; Direct Practice; and Social Work with Groups
Full Profile
jmondros@hunter.cuny.edu

Carmen Morano, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Familial Caregiving Stress and Burden; Developing and Implementing Evidence Based Interventions in Community-Based Settings; Mental Health of Older Adults; and Care Transitions from Acute Medical Settings to Community Based Care
Full Profile

cmorano@hunter.cuny.edu

George Patterson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Police Social Work; Criminal Justice; and Stress and Coping Among Police Officers and Recruits

Full Profile

george.patterson@hunter.cuny.edu

Ana Paulino, Ed.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Research; Clinical Practice; Dominican Families in the United States; School Based Social Work Practice; Family Development Across the Life-Span; Death and Dying; Spirituality; and Childhood Developmental Disorders
Full Profile
apaulino@hunter.cuny.edu

Juan B. Peña, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Suicidal Behavior; Adolescent Mental Health; Latino Mental Health; and Cultural Globalization
Full Profile
jp84@hunter.cuny.edu

Jonathan Prince, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Mental Health and Old Adults
Full Profile
jprin@hunter.cuny.edu

Judith Rosenberger, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise: Psychodynamic Practice Perspectives on Development and Adult Functioning; Sub-Specializations in Learning Disabilities, Substance Abuse, Couples; Psythopathology: Beyond the DSM IV; Contemporary Psychoanalytic and Psychodynamic Theories

Full Profile

jrosenbe@hunter.cuny.edu

Anthony Sainz, D.S.W., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Cultural Competency; Substance Abuse Among Incarcerated Persons and Female Adolescents; Narrative Lives of Women Out of Prison; Childhood Trauma; Research Methodology, Spirituality and Healing, and Evaluation of Practice
Full Profile
asainz@hunter.cuny.edu

Andrea Savage, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Program Evaluation and Practice Based Research;Organizational Management/Management Theory; Substance Abuse Treatment and Organization; and Service Delivery to Women with Co-Occurring Disorders and Trauma
Full Profile
asavage@hunter.cuny.edu

Roger J. Sherwood, D.S.W., Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder; Veterans; Trauma; and Addictions
Full Profile
rsherwoo@hunter.cuny.edu

Philip Swan, M.L.S., Associate Professor
Area of Expertise: Library Education-Bibliographic Instruction
Full Profile
pswan@hunter.cuny.edu

Willie Tolliver, D.S.W., Associate Professor
Full Profile
wtollive@hunter.cuny.edu

Deborah L. Tolman, Ed.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Adolescent Development; Gender Development; Sexuality in Adolescence; Women's Sexuality; Female Adolescent Depression and Self-esteem; and Embodiment
Full Profile
dtolman@hunter.cuny.edu

Patricia J. Volland, M.S.W., Visiting Distinguished Lecturer & Director of Social Work Leadership Institute (website)
Full Profile
pv116@hunter.cuny.edu

Roderick Watts, Ph.D., Professor
Areas of Expertise:
Youth Civic and Socio-Political Development, Men and Masculinity, African-Centered Youth Programs, and Participatory Action Research and Liberation Psychology
Full Profile

rwatts@hunter.cuny.edu

 

Senior Staff Directory



Shelley Horwitz, M.S.W., Director of Training
shorwitz@hunter.cuny.edu

Lauren Mazer, M.S.W., Director of Alumni and Career Services
lmazer@hunter.cuny.edu

Gwen L. Mitchell, M.S.W., Assistant Director of Enrollment and Recruitment
omitchel@hunter.cuny.edu

Chickie Piazza, Executive Assistant to the Dean & Chief Operating Officer
cpiazza@hunter.cuny.edu

Abby Miller, M.S.W, LCSW, Assistant Director of Field Education
abigail.miller@hunter.cuny.edu

Kanako Okuda, M.S.W, LCSW, Director of Field Education
kanako.okuda@hunter.cuny.edu

Donna Contreras-Aguirre, LCSW, Interim Director of Student Services
dcontr@hunter.cuny.edu

Rob Lorey, LMSW, Assistant Director of Student Affairs
rlorey@hunter.cuny.edu

Nireata Seals, Ed.D., Assistant Dean of Enrollment Management/Records
nseals@hunter.cuny.edu