Document Actions

How to Submit  •  Deadlines

About The Hunter Gatherer

The Hunter Gatherer publishes news about upcoming programs and activities sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, and other matters that have special interest and relevance to a broad community of Hunter students, such as important administrative announcements and college-wide or CUNY-wide events.

Please note: We are not able to answer questions about our contributors' announcements. For information about a specific announcement, please contact the department or organization that posted the item.

HOW IT WORKS

  • We publish your announcement on The Hunter Gatherer web site (these pages).
  • At the same time, we distribute an e-newsletter via email to the entire Hunter community. The e-newsletter includes your headline (and, when space allows, a brief abstract) with a link to your announcement on this site.
  • All current students, faculty and staff receive The Hunter Gatherer e-newsletter.
  • We publish every two weeks during the academic year.
  • We publish approximately every three weeks during the summer and winter breaks. We do not publish during spring recess or Thanksgiving week.

OUR STAFF

Editor: Li Gardiner, Office of Graphic Design | Office of Student Communications
Assistant Editors: Sharon Vega and Abby Torres, Office of Graphic Design | Office of Student Communications
Executive Editor: Eunice Lewis-Broome, Director of Student Life


Submitting Your Announcement

HOW TO SUBMIT

  • Please use our easy online form.
  • We've made it easier for you to submit a communication request. Moving forward, you can now submit a request for the Hunter Gatherer, as well as email broadcasts, Schools App announcements, campus display ads, print media, social media, webpage updates, and phone campaigns using our form.

WHAT TO SUBMIT

Submissions without adequate information, and very lengthy submissions may be returned for editing or correction.

  • Include a succinct but informative headline
  • Describe what will happen at the event, or what students will get out of the opportunity
  • Edit your description to one or two paragraphs
  • Spell out the Date or Deadline, including the day of the week, for example: Monday, July 22
    (For events with multiple dates, you can type a list of dates in the "text" area)
  • Spell out the Time. For example: 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Spell out the Place. For example: Room 417, West Building
  • Include current Contact Information
  • Have somebody else proofread your text
  • Provide links to more information. Please include the complete URL (Web address), for example: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu
  • We are not able to publish images

Publication Deadlines for Fall 2016

Please be aware that publication dates and submission deadlines may need to be revised due to circumstances beyond our control. If you are planning your student communications calendar for the upcoming year, please check this page from time to time for the most current deadlines.

Submission Deadline
/Publication
Monday, August 22, at 5 pm Friday, August 26
Friday, September 2, at 12 pm Friday, September 9
Please note that Monday, September 5 is Labor Day. Campus is closed.
Monday, September 19, at 5 pm Friday, September 23
Monday, October 3, at 5 pm Friday, October 7
Monday, October 17, at 5 pm Friday, October 21
Monday, October 31, at 5pm Friday, November 4
Monday, November 14, at 5 pm Friday, November 18
Monday, November 28, at 5 pm Friday, December 2
Monday, December 12, at 5 pm Friday, December 16

 

If your program, event or opportunity for Hunter students is sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, please submit your announcement here.