Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home Theatre Opportunities Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships and Awards


Robert LoBianco Scholarship
Each fall semester the Hunter College Department of Theatre awards two $2500 Robert LoBianco scholarships to undergraduate theatre majors who demonstrate both academic merit and need. The scholarship was established by Bob's family in 1991 to honor the memory of his theatre work at Hunter College.

Bob was active in every aspect of production in Hunter's Department of Theatre in the 1960’s. He served as a stage manager, director, and actor for all of the department’s productions during a politically turbulent time in our history. He rallied the support of his classmates and managed the department’s largest and most complicated musical productions when we used the Kaye Playhouse stage, before the Loewe Theatre existed. He inspired everyone to deliver their best performances during a period of great social unrest. He is remembered by those who knew him as an exceptionally kind and generous classmate, person, and man of the theatre.

After graduating from Hunter, Bob went on the work as a producer and talent agent. He would often return to Hunter to attend our productions.

 Download the Spring 2016 guidelines here.

SAF Performing Arts Fund
At the beginning of each academic year the Hunter College Performing Arts Office accepts online applications for individual student projects in the performing arts for the upcoming fall and spring semester. Grants are in the $1000 range and can be used to produce a play, project, or to bring in a guest artist to offer workshops or master classes. Other ideas will be considered, but projects must take place at Hunter College and offered free to the community.

If you are interested in applying for an SAF PA grant you need to plan at least a semester in advance and fill out a Theatre Department application for Student Production Projects. Guidelines and applications are available in late March/early April on our website or in the department office, and must be submitted by mid-April. You can not apply for an SAF PA project without receiving approval in the spring semester for the next academic year/grant cycle. If you'd like more information or have questions email

The Anne Freedman Student Theatre Production Fund
The Anne Freedman Student Theatre Production Fund (AFPF) has been established by a generous grant to encourage and assist full-time undergraduate and graduate students matriculated in the Hunter College Department of Theatre to mount theatrical productions at any stage of development at Hunter College or outside venue(s). Grants range from $1000 to $5000. If you'd like more information or have questions email

Download the Spring 2016 guidelines here.

Other Awards
Unless otherwise noted, these awards are in the $150/$250 range and are announced at the end of the semester.

Undergraduate -- Vera M. Roberts Award for excellence in theatre history; Charles Elson Award for excellence in production work in theatre exclusive of acting; Tyrone Guthrie Award for excellence in directing; Walter Prichard Eaton Award for excellence in playwriting; John Gassner Award for excellence in criticism; Theatre Workshop Award for excellence in acting.

Graduate -- Vera Roberts Graduate Fellowship for an entering MA student with superior credentials ($2500); John Golden Award for playwriting ($1000); Irving Zarkower Award for the best new play of the year ($1000); Rita and Burton Goldberg MFA Playwriting Prize ($2500).

Document Actions
Upcoming Events

Theatre website feedback:
North Building Room 522
(212) 772-5149 | email us
695 Park Ave
NY, NY 10065