Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » National Center » Webcasts and Podcasts from the 2016 Conference
Document Actions

Webcasts and Podcasts from the 2016 Conference

Introduction to Webcasts and Podcasts from the 43rd Annual Conference

As part of the National Center’s educational and research mission, we have posted below webcasts and podcasts from our 2016 annual conference at the CUNY Graduate Center in New York. The webcasts and podcasts represent a sampling of the quality presentations made at the conference on contemporary issues in collective bargaining and labor relations in higher education.  We thank Becca Pulliam from Please Repeat the Question Productions and the Hunter College's ICIT Department for their production assistance.
Watch the webcasts of the panel discussions.
The Future of Community Colleges
Martha Kanter, Distinguished Visiting Professor of Higher Education, Steinhardt Institute of Higher Education Policy, NYU
David Bergeron, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Lynette Nyaggah, Community College Association CTA-NEA President
Stephen Katsinas, Director and Professor, University of Alabama Education Policy Center, Moderator
LGBT Issues in Higher Education Labor Relations (CLE)
Rosemary DiSavino, Senior Trial Attorney, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Sean Robinson, Morgan State University Associate Professor of Higher Education 
Rachel V. See, National Labor Relations Board  
Elizabethe C. Payne, Interim Director, LGBT Social Science and Public Policy Center, Roosevelt House, Visiting Associate
Professor, Hunter College, CUNY and  Director, The Queering Education Research Institute, Moderator 
Negotiating Over Technology in Contracts and Curriculum: Copyright or Copyleft?
Gary Rhoades, Professor and Director, Center for the Study of Higher Education, University of Arizona
Greg Saltzman, E. Maynard Aris Professor of Economics and Management, Albion College
Michael W. Klein, Executive Director, N.J. Association of State Colleges and Universities
Richard Novak, Vice President for Continuing Studies and Distance Education, Rutgers University, Moderator
Listen to the podcasts of the panel discussions.
Friedrichs v. CTA: What the Future May Bring (CLE)
Cynthia Estlund, Catherine A. Rein Professor of Law, New York University School of Law
Charlotte Garden, Seattle University School of Law Associate Professor
Ruben Garcia, University of Nevada, Las Vegas Professor of Law
Frederick Schaffer, General Counsel and Senior Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs, CUNY, Moderator
Plenary: The History, State, and Future of Shared Governance
M. Brian Blake, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Drexel University  
Larry G. Gerber, former chair of the American Association of University Professors’ Committee on College and University Governance
Barbara Lee, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Rutgers University  
Scott Jaschik, editor, Inside Higher Ed, Moderator  
America’s Public Regional Universities: Collective Bargaining Matters
Stephen Katsinas, Director and Professor, University of Alabama Education Policy Center, Presenter 
Theodore Curry, Associate Provost, Associate Vice President, Academic Human Resources, Michigan State Univ., Commentator
Fred Floss, Fiscal Policy Institute Senior Fellow, Commentator
Gail Brooks, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources Emerita, CSU, Interim Vive President Human Resources CSU, Fullerton, Moderator
Higher Education Issues at Public Sector Labor Boards (CLE)
Marjorie Wittner, Chair, Massachusetts Commonwealth Employment Relations Board 
Adam Rhynard, Oregon Employment Relations Board member
John Winerius, NYS Public Employment Relations Board Deputy Chair
Phillip Maier, Arbitrator and Mediator, Moderator
Graduate Assistants, Unionization, and Negotiations
Michael Eagen, Director and Counsel, University of Connecticut Office of Faculty and Staff Labor Relations 
Kenneth Lang, UAW Region 9A International Representative
Raymond L. Haines, Associate Vice Chancellor for Employee Relations, State University of New York
James Castagnera, Associate Provost/Legal Counsel for Academic Affairs, Rider University, Moderator
Faculty as Mandatory Reporters under Title IX
Coleen Chin, Senior Attorney, U.S. Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights
John Rose, Dean for Diversity, Hunter College, City University of New York
Yael Wepman, Director of EEO & Title IX Coordinator, St. John’s University
Jeffery Frumkin, Associate Vice Provost and Senior Director, Academic Human Resources, University of Michigan, Moderator
Title IX, Academic Freedom and Due Process
Risa Lieberwitz, Professor, Labor and Employment Law, Cornell ILR, AAUP General Counsel
Rana Jaleel, UC Davis, Committee W
Suzanne B. Goldberg, Executive Vice President for University Life, Columbia University
Peter Schmidt, Chronicle of Higher Education Senior Writer, Moderator
The Impact of Faculty Unit Composition on Collective Bargaining
Robin Sowards, Organizer and Researcher, United Steelworkers, and Vice President, New Faculty Majority
Loretta Ragsdell, City Colleges of Chicago Contingent Labor Organizing Committee Vice President and Grievance Chair/IEA/NEA 
James Burkel, Senior Academic Labor Relations Representative, University of Michigan 
Kenneth Doxsee, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, University of Oregon   
Deborah Cooperstein, Adelphi University AAUP Chapter President, Moderator
Click here for photos from the 2016 Conference.