Room 1018 East Building Phone: 772-4200

MINUTES

Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 10 December 1997

1			
2		The 358th meeting of the Hunter College Senate was co	onvened at 4:20 PM in Room W714.
3 4	Presiding:	Barbara L. Hampton, Chair	
5 6	Attendance:	The elected members of the Senate with the exception	of those listed in Appendix I.
7 8 9	Agenda:	The agenda was adopted as distributed.	
10	Minutes:	The Minutes of the November 5th meeting were approved as distributed.	
11 12 13 14	Report by the President:	A summary statement of President Caputo's report to the	he Senate is attached as Appendix II.
15 16	Report by the Administrative	Professor Hampton presented the report as follows:	
17 18 19 20	Committee:	She said: "I would like to take this moment to recognize Dean Fleissner, who is retiring, and to praise him for a stellar career at Hunter as scientist, teacher, and administrator, and to express our deepest gratitude for his service and contributions to the Senate. We wish him well."	
21 22		The Senate accorded Dean Fleissner a standing ovation.	
23 24 25 26		Amendment to College-wide Search Procedures The motion on the floor was the motion to add the title <i>Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences</i> to paragraph 1. A. Divisional Searches shall be conducted for the following officers or their equivalents. The motion was approved by hand vote. Election of Search Committee for Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences The "Voting Procedures" were adopted as distributed.	
27 28			
29 30 31 32			
33 34		Professor Hampton presented the following nominations:	
35		NOMINESS FOR CHAIR PANEL: Dean Evelynn Gioiella (Schools of Health Professions) Professor Terry Mizrahi (School of Social Work) NOMINESS FOR MEMBER PANEL:	
36 37 38			
39 40			
41 42 43		Faculty:	Students:
+3 44 45		Division of Humanities & Arts:	students.
46 47 48		Ehiedu Iweriebor (Black & Puerto Rican Studies) Meena Alexander (English) Isabel Pinedo (Film & Media Studies)	Keith Higginbotham (English) Margie Hansssens (English) Marco Tomaschett (Philosophy)
49 50		James Roman (Film & Media Studies) Eckhard Kuhn-Osius (German)	wateo romaschen (rimosophy)
51 52 53		Michael Griffel (Music) Alan Hausman (Philosophy) Giuseppe Di Scipio (Romance Languages)	
54		Jonathan Kalb (Theatre)	

56 Page 2711 57 Minutes **Meeting of the Hunter College Senate** 58 **10 December 1997** 59 60 61 **Division of Sciences & Mathematics:** 62 Shirley Raps (Biological Sciences) Mayumi Noto (Chemistry) 63 Lou Massa (Chemistry) 64 Charles Heatwole (Geography) 65 Jeffrey Osleeb (Geography) 66 Rick Churchill (Mathematics & Statistics) 67 68 69 70 **Division of Social Sciences:** Gregory Johnson (Anthropology) Julie Rathke (Psychology) 71 Avi Liveson (Economics) Meredith Kneavel (Grad.-Psych) 72 Rosalind Petchesky (Political Science) 73 Michael Doyle (Grad.-Urban Aff.) John Wallach (Political Science) 74 75 Peter Moller (Psychology) Robert Carter (Sociology) 76 77 Elaine Walsh (Urban Aaffairs) 78 79 It was moved that the nominees for chair panel be approved as a slate. The motion carried by hand vote. 80 81 It was moved that the seven student nominees for the member panel be accepted as a slate. 82 The motion carried by hand vote and the seven names will be submitted to the President. 83 84 Written ballots were distributed for the election of eight faculty nominees for the member 85 panel. 86 87 The Chair reminded the body that under the rules of the Senate each voter may vote for a 88 maximum of eight candidates. 89 90 While the counting of written ballots continued, the meeting was officially adjourned at 4:45 91 92 PM. 93 94 **Announcement of Election Results:** 95 Voting by written ballot produced the following results: A total number of 63 ballots were cast. Because of tie votes the following nine faculty names will be submitted to the President 96 97 for the member panel of the Search Committee for Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences: 98 99 **Division of Humanities & Arts** Giuseppe Di Scipio: 31 votes 100 Michael Griffel 30 votes 101 Meena Alexander 29 votes 102 103 104 **Division of Sciences & Mathematics** 105 Shirley Raps: 46 votes Lou Massa 26 votes 106 Rick Churchill 26 votes 107 108 109 **Social Sciences** 110 Robert Carter 31 votes 111 Rosalind Petchesky 26 votes 112 Elaine Walsh 26 votes 113 114 115 116 Respectfully submitted, 117 118 119 120 121 Pamela Mills, 122 Secretary