Office of the Hunter College Senate

Room 1018 East Building Phone: 772-4200

MINUTES

Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 25 February 2004

1 2		The 436th meeting of the Hunter College Senate was convened at 4:10 PM in Room W714.			
3	Presiding:	Joan Tronto, Chair			
5	Attendance:	The elected members of the Senate with the exception of those listed in Appendix I.			
7 8	Agenda:	The agenda was adopted as presented.			
9 10 11	Report by the President:	There was no report.			
12 13	Report by the Administrative	The Chair presented the report as follows:			
14	Committee:	Approved Curriculum Changes			
15		The following curriculum changes as listed in the Report dated 25 February 2004 were			
16		approved as per Senate resolution, and were submitted for the Senate's information: Items:			
17		Items US-1280 (C&T/ Foundations/Theatre), UE-1338 (History), UE-1343 (Sociology), UE-			
18		1345 (AFPRL), UE-1349 (Music), and UE-1350 (Music).			
19					
20		Special Election to fill vacant seats on the Senate			
21		She presented the following nomination in accordance with Article IV.2.H.i & ii of the			
22		Charter for a Governance of Hunter College:			
23					
24		Students: Jessica Arielle Roberts			
25		Jessica Ross			
26					
27		It was moved that the nomination be approved. The motion carried by voice vote.			
28					
29	Reports:	Report by the Acting Vice President for Student Affairs			
30	•	A summary of Vice President Ayravainen's report is attached as Appendix II.			
31					
32		She concluded the report by answering questions from the floor.			
33					
34		Resolution Re: Hunter Membership in Workers Rights Consortium			
35		Mr. Taylor moved, and it was seconded, that the following resolution be approved. Brendon			
36		Tronconi, Board Representative of NYPIRG, presented the resolution.			
37		·			
38		WHEREAS Hunter students, faculty, and administration have expressed interest in			
39		Hunter College taking steps to help ensure that apparel sold in the Hunter College Book			
40		Store and purchased by the Hunter College Athletics Department are made in factories			
41		which adhere to fair labor standards and not in sweatshops, and			
42		•			

43 44

Minutes Page 5062

46	25 February 2004				
47					
48					
49					
50		WHEREAS Hunter College should strive to purchase goods and services from entities			
51		that conform to fair labor standards, therefore,			
52					
53		BE IT RESOLVED that the Hunter College Senate endorses the college's membership			
54		with the Workers Rights Consortium, an international monitoring organization that works			
55		to uphold fair labor standards in apparel factories producing for colleges and universities			
56					
57		After discussion the question was called and carried. The resolution was approved with 40 in			
58		favor, and 3 opposed.			
59					
60		It was moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried and the meeting adjourned			
61		at 5:05 PM.			
62					
63		Respectfully submitted,			
64					
~ ~		Andhana D'adana			
65		Anthony Picciano,			
66 67		Secretary			
67					

67

Page 5063

Minutes

Meeting of the Hunter College Senate 2/25/04:

APPENDIX 1

		- -	
The following members were noted	as absent from the meeting:		
Faculty			
Africana & P.R./Latino Studies	Felix Matos-Rodriguez	Psychology	Tracy Dennis
		, 2,	Rossi Hassad
Anthropology	William Parry		
1 23	Jonathan Shannon	Romance Languages	Michael Perna
		2 2	Michele Bocquillon "E"
Art	Steve Davis		•
	Lisa Davis	School of Health Sciences	David Kotelchuck
			Camille McIntyre "E"
Biological Sciences	Benjamin Ortiz "E"		
		School of Social Work	Paul Kurzman
Chemistry	Namby Krishnamachari		Gary Mallon "E"
	Lou Massa		Elizabeth Danto
	Bill Sweeney		
		Sociology	Joong Oh
Classical & Oriental Studies	Rivka Friedman		Randi Rosenblum
	Joann Spurza		
		Special Education	Diane Taranto
Computer Science	Ioannis Stamos		Dona Matthews
	William Sakas		
		Theatre	Claudia Orenstein
Curriculum & Teaching	Janell Drone		
		Urban Affairs	Susan Turner-Meiklejohn
Economics	Avi Liveson		
	Howard Chernick	Administrators	Dean Harold Weissman
	Michael Schleifer		Dean Laurie Sherwen
			Acting Dean Shirley Cohen
Educational Foundations	Mary Kopala		Dean Judith Friedlander
	Priscilla Dixon		Ms. Marily Daley-Weston "E"
	Elizabeth Cardoso		Dean Linda Chin
Film & Media Studies	Joe McElhaney	Ex-Officio	Kimada LeGendre
Timi & Media Studies	Joe McEmaney	Ex-Officio	Jackie Wilson
Geography	Randye Rutberg "E"		Tony Grande
Geography	William Solecki		Jason Ares
	William Solecki		Justin Thes
Library	Valeda Dent	Students	
	Denise Hoover		
		Jonathan Gradowski	Linu Philip
Mathematics & Statistics	Barbara Barone	Kathleen Ensor	Luminitza Carmen Belecciou
		Paula Fekete	Brynetta Bailey
Music	Brad Stoller	Jeni Incontro	Brian Gaun
	Mark Spicer	Darlene Arbit "E"	Madalina Obogeanu
		Michael Shulman	Carolina Zapata
Philosophy	Sue Weinberg	Melissa Thai	Caroline Erb
	Frank Kirkland	Ian Mustich	Brooke Krystosek
		Arimaris Cano	Stanley Diaz "E"
Physics & Astronomy	Gregory Foster	Jean Banton	Sha Sha Feng
		Sangram Katoch	Charles Davi
Political Science	John Wallach	Diane Young "E"	Alisha Outridge

Pierre Hypolite

Kenneth Sherrill