Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Senate » Senate Committees » Select Committee on Student Success
Document Actions

Select Committee on Student Success


The jurisdiction of this committee will extend to such academic and support programs that exist and will be created to improve the academic experience of entering students. Among the concerns that may be included are 

  • The “Block Program” 
  • Orientation Programs 
  • The Orientation Seminar 
  • Admission and Enrollment issues 
  • Communications with entering students
  • Responsibilities of academic departments for entering students. 
  • Transitions beyond the first year 


Designated Voting Members

  • 4 Faculty members
  • 4 members of the Staff of Student Services
  • 5 Undergraduate Students

Ex-officio members

  • Provost
  • Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences or designee

Current memberships

  • Prof. Michelle Liu, Economics
  • Prof. Yacov (Jack) Kenigsberg, English
  • Prof. Diego Loayza, Biological Science
  • Prof. Elizabeth Klein, Special Education
  • Alternate, Milena R. Shattuck, Anthropology
  • Alternate, Michael Thomas, English
  • Student:  Anastasia Villarreal, Philosophy
  • Student:  Madeline Zeron, Human Biology
  • Student Alternate:  Kylie Klapp, Political Science
  • Student Alternate:  Lorraine Santana, Biological Sciences 
  • Student Services, Staci Ortiz  
  • Student Services, Aliya Frazier, Associate Director of Advising 
  • Student Services, Nikole Feliciano, Director of Advising 
  • Co-Chair, Student Services, Joe Fantozzi, Senior Director of Admissions and Recruiting 

*subject to future ratification by the Nominating Committee and the Hunter College Senate


  • Provost or Designee, Daniel Hurewitz 
  • Vice President for Student Affairs, Eija Ayravainen 
  • Dean of Arts and Sciences, Brian Buckwald 

Reports to the Senate



« July 2024 »
Go to full calendar…