Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Announcements » Scholarships & Opportunities
Document Actions

Award & Scholarship Overview

Awards and Prizes:

The Political Science Department confers recognition on its outstanding graduates through prizes and awards: The Katherine Duffy Prize, The Edgar Dawson Prize, and The David E. Haight Memorial Award are presented annually to graduating political science majors.

For a listing of past awards winners, click here.


The Political Science Department may award The Joan Pincus Scholarship to students majoring in political science who have achieved at least sophomore status, have an excellent academic record, and have demonstrated financial need.

This scholarship was established by Joan Pincus, an alumna of the Political Science Department here at Hunter College. After graduating from law school, Mrs. Pincus went on to become a highly respected attorney. She established this scholarship to provide financial assistance to students to help them to complete their college education. Her husband Sherman Pincus, has continued this scholarship in her honor. For additional information, see the department chair or the department advisor.

Pi Sigma Alpha:

Students interested in joining this honor society should consult with Professor Leonard Feldman.