Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » NCSCBHEP

The National Center for the
Study of Collective Bargaining
in Higher Education and the Professions
is located at and supported
by Hunter College of
The City University of New York (CUNY).

National Center in the News:

For Press Inquiries Contact National Center Director, William A. Herbert:



2012 Directory:

The 2012 Directory of U.S. Faculty
Contracts and Bargaining Agents
in Institutions of Higher Education
is available for purchase.

Click for the Directory Highlights
Click for the Directory order form
Click for the Survey Instrument of the 2012 Directory

Document Actions

National Center for the Study of Collective Bargaining in Higher Education and the Professions

The National Center's 41st Annual Conference on Collective Bargaining in Higher Education and the Professions

The National Center thanks all of the panelists, moderators and attendees for making the 41st Annual Conference of the National Center for the Study of Collective Bargaining in Higher Education and the Professions a major success. The increased registration at this year's conference is a direct result of the quality and diversity of the topics examined at the conference including issues relating to contingent faculty, social media and academic freedom, bullying, the future of pensions in academia, on-line learning and intellectual property. A number of those panels were digitally recorded. Below are podcasts of seven of the panels which were produced by Becca Pulliam of Please Repeat the Question Productions. Photographs were taken by Charlie Spatz and Kimberly King.

The success of the conference would not have been possible without the support of Hunter College and the hard work of numerous Hunter College and CUNY staff and conference volunteers. The conference was underwritten by a grant from TIAA-CREF with additional funding from the Segal Company.


2014 Annual Conference Photos and Podcast Highlights


The Future of Higher Education Panel with Martin Finkelstein, Jack Shuster and Valerie Martin Conley. Theresa Montaño moderated this panel discussion.
Listen to the podcasts of the panel  discussions.

The Impact of Contingent Faculty on Higher Education Results with panelists Michelle Kiss, Hongwei Yu and Daniel Maxey. Jeffrey Frumkin moderated this panel discussion.
Trends in Labor Management Issues at Historically Black Colleges and Universities with Zillah Fluker, Gregory S. Carr, Carrie Gavin, Derryn Moten and Elizabeth Davenport. Dr. George Cooper moderated this panel discussion.

   Part 1

   Part 2

International Perspectives on Non-Tenure Track Faculty

Robyn May, Griffith University, Melbourne, Australia
Helen Fairfoul, UCEA, UK
Cindy Oliver, Federation of Post-Secondary Educators, Canada
Michael Zweig, Professor, Stony Brook University, UUP, Moderator

   Part 1

   Part 2
Labor Perspectives on the Organizing of Contingent Faculty
Phil Kugler, Special Assistant to AFT President
Michelle Gallagher, Esq., MTA/NEA
David Kociemba, Chapter President, AAUP, Emerson College
Malini Cadambi Daniel, SEIU Higher Education Campaign
Harris Freeman, Professor, Western New England University, MA Commonwealth Employment Relations Board Member, Moderator

   Part 1

   Part 2
Future of Pensions in Academia
Timothy Lane, Managing Director, TIAA-CREF
John Abraham, Director, Member Benefits Department, AFT
Neil Tudiver, Assistant Executive Director, CAUT
Mark Brossman, Partner, Schulte Roth & Zabel, PLLC
Brian Duffy, Acting Associate Provost, Hunter College, CUNY, Moderator
   Part 1

   Part 2

Collective Bargaining Results Regarding Contingent Faculty
Holly Lawrence, VP, Executive Board, MSP/MTA/NEA
Richard Nettell, University of Hawaii Professional Assembly
John Bryan, Associate Provost, University of Massachusetts
Lisa Bonick, Director, Academic Labor Relations, Rutgers University, Moderator
   Part 1
   Part 2

Photograph of the Second Plenary with moderator Gary Rhoades, Barbara Bowen, Professional Staff Congress President and Eastern Illinois University President Bill Perry.

Save the Date! April 19-21, 2015 for the 42nd Annual Conference in NYC

With the completion of the 2014 Annual Conference, the National Center has begun preparations for next year's conference.  It will take place in New York City on April 19-21, 2015.  Please mark your calendars and look for 2015 conference updates in future E-Notes and on our website.

42nd Annual Conference Call for Papers and Proposed Workshops