Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Physics & Astronomy » Faculty & Staff
Document Actions

Faculty & Staff

(Jump to: Faculty, Staff)

Departmental Contact Information

695 Park Avenue, 1225 Hunter North
New York, NY 10065
Tel: (212) 772-5248
Fax: (212) 772-5390
Office Hours: M - F 9am-5pm


Department Contacts

Chair Professor Steven Greenbaum
Admission Professor Hyungsik Lim
Graduate Advisor Professor Neepa Maitra
Undergraduate and BA/MA Advisor Professor Ying-Chih Chen
Pre-Engineering Advisor Professor Leon Cohen
BioPhysics Advisor Professor
Pre-Med/Prof. Advisor Professor 
Director of Science Learning Center Professor 
Transfer Credit Evaluations Professor
Physics 101 Coordinator Professor Neepa Maitra
Physics 110 Coordinator Professor 
Physics 120 Coordinator Professor
Astronomy Coordinator Professor Yonatan Abranyos
Intermediate Labs Coordinator Professor Ying-Chih Chen
Teacher Opportunity Program Coordinator Professor Ying-Chih Chen
Grade Appeal Committee Professors Godfrey Gumbs,
Kelle Cruz,
Ying-Chih Chen
Representative to the Curriculum Committee Professor Mark Hillery
Colloquia Organizer Professor Hyungsik Lim
Faculty Adviser for the Physics Club  Professor Kelle Cruz 

[ Back to top ]


Name Position Office Phone Email Research Area
Steven Greenbaum Professor 1220B HN 212-772-4973 Magnetic resonance (NMR, EPR) spectroscopy, materials science and energy storage applications
Yonatan Abranyos Assistant Professor 1214B 212-772-5372 Astronomy
János Bergou Professor 1205 HN 212-772-5254 Quantum optics, non-linear optics and intense field quantum electrodynamics
 Ying-Chih Chen Professor 1236 HN  Office: 212-772-4526 Lab: 212-772-5249  Experimental optics, laser physics, laser devices and spectroscopy 
Leon Cohen Professor 1218 HN 212-772-5790 Quantum mechanics and time-frequency analysis
Kelle Cruz Assistant Professor 1227 HN Main: 917-725-1334
Hunter ext: 1-6486 Observational Astronomy
Godfrey Gumbs University Distinguished Professor and Maria A. Chianta and Alice M. Stoll Professor. 1247 HN 212-650-3935 Theoretical condensed matter physics, transport properties and mesoscopic systems
Mark Hillery Professor 1215 HN 212-772-5253 Quantum optics and Quantum Information
Hyungsik Lim Assistant Professor 1237HN 212-772-4806 Biophysics, Nonlinear Optics and Biomedical Optics
Neepa Maitra Professor 1214E HN 212-650-3518 Theoretical chemical physics and density functional theory
Frank Owens
Research Professor

Yuhang Ren Professor 1204 HN 212-772-5258 Electronic Materials, Nonlinear Femtosecond Laser Spectroscopy and Condensed Matter Physics

[ Back to top ]

Retired Faculty

Name Position Email Reseach Areas
Bo Lawergren Professor Emeritus Archaeology of Music in the Old World, Musical Acoustics
Marilyn Wiesen Rothschild Professor Emeritus
Rodney Varley Professor Emeritus Theoretical plasma physics and theoretical non-equilibrium statistical mechanics of liquids

[ Back to top ]

Administrative and Instructional Staff

Name Position Office Phone Email
Julie Hon Assistant to the Chair 1225 HN 212-650-3029

Administrative Assistant 1225 HN 212-772-5248
Edward (Eddy) Yeung Computer Services 1200B HN 212-772-5259
Yevgeniy Skrypnyk College Laboratory Technician 1242 HN 212-650-3433

[ Back to top ]

Research Staff

Name Office Phone Email

 [ Back to top ]

February 2013 »
Go to full calendar…