Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » National Center » Conference Pictures from 2017
Document Actions

Conference Pictures from 2017

Welcome Greetings at the
44th Annual National Conference
by Alyssa Picard, the American
Federation of Teachers Higher
Education Director.
Keynote Presentation
(l-r) National Center Executive Director William A. Herbert, former NLRB Chairman Wilma Liebman, NLRB Chairman Philip A. Miscimarra, and former NLRB Chairman and current NLRB Board Member Mark G. Pearce.
The Impact of Anti-Intellectualism
on the State of Higher Education

(ccw) Susan Jacoby, author, The
Age of American Unreason, Frederick P. Schaffer, Chair, New York City Campaign Finance Board, Hank Reichman, AAUP Vice President, and Lynn Pasquerella, President, Association of American Colleges and Universities.
GSEs: Collective Bargaining After the NLRB's Columbia University Decision (l-r) Melissa Korn, WSJ Reporter, Joe Ambash, Fisher & Phillips, Daniel Julius, Senior VP and Provost, NJ City University, Wilma Liebman, former NLRB Chair, and Julie Kushner, UAW Region 9A Director. Current Issues at Historically
Black Colleges and Universities

(l-r) Ronald Mason, Jr., University
of District of Columbia President,
John Brittain, Law Professor, UDC,
David A. Clarke School of Law,
Felecia Commodore, Assistant Professor, Old Dominion University, and Elizabeth K.Davenport, FL A&M University, UFF/AFT/NEA President.
Lincoln, Labor, and Race
(l-r) James Oakes, Distinguished Professor, CUNY Graduate Center, Harold Holzer, Jonathan F. Fanton Director, Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute, Hunter College,  and Edna Greene Medford, Chair, Howard University Department of History.
Overtime Compensation and Pay Equity in Higher Education (back) Mark Smith, NEA Higher Education Policy Analyst, (front l-r) Rosemary DiSavino, EEOC Senior Trial Attorney, Deborah Bell, PSC, CUNY Executive Director, Maria Maisto, New Faculty Majority President, and John S. Ho, Cozen O’Connor. Age Discrimination Issues in Higher Education (l-r) Jason Walta, NEA Senior Counsel,Karen Bitar, Seyfarth Shaw LLP, Justin Mulaire, EEOC Supervisory Trial Attorney, and John T. Rose, Dean for Diversity, Hunter College, CUNY. A Primer on National Labor Relations Board  Procedures (l-r) John Walsh, NLRB Director, Region 1, Karen P. Fernbach, NLRB, Director, Region 2, Kathy Drew King, NLRB Director, Region 29, and James O. Castagnera, Associate Provost and Legal Counsel for Academic Affairs, Rider University.
Professional Development for Adjunct and Tenure-Track Faculty (l-r) Gary Rhoades, Director of the Center for the Study of Higher Education, University of Arizona, LaGuardia Community College President Gail Mellow, Malini Cadambi-Daniel, SEIU Director of Higher Education, and Barbara Madeloni, Massachusetts Teachers Association President. The Role of Endowments in Financing Higher Education
(l-r) Danielle Douglas-Gabriel, Washington Post, Kenneth Redd, Director, Research and Policy Analysis, NACUBO, Elizabeth Parisian, Assistant Director, AFT Research and Strategic Initiatives, and Peter M. Rup, Founder & Chief Investment Officer, Artemis Wealth Advisors, LLC.
The Capital Markets and Higher Education (l-r) Jacob Apkarian, York College, Susan Fitzgerald, Associate Managing Director, Moody's Investor Services, Charlie Eaton, Stanford University, and Tim Coffin, Senior Vice President, Breckinridge Capital Advisors.
Legal Issues in Higher Education:
Annual Review of Developments

(l-r) Juditra Burgess, Boston University Labor Relations Director, Richard Griffin, NLRB General Counsel, Kristin Klein Wheaton, Goldberg Segalla,  John Wirenius, NYS Public Employment Relations Board Chairperson, and Aaron Nisenson, AAUP Senior Legal Counsel.
Federal and State Funding: Shifting Patterns (front-l-r) Kara Perkins, Executive Budget Director, Cal State University, Leo Welch, Legislative Officer, AAUP Illinois Conference, (back l-r) Michael Fabricant, PSC Vice President,Quinton T. Ross,
Alabama State Senator, and Frederick Floss, SUNY Buffalo State University and FPI Senior Fellow.
Student Debt (ccw) Jamie Dangler, UUP VP for Academics, SUNY, Daniel Forster, VP Enrollment Management, Washington College,
Stephen Katsinas, University
of Alabama Education Policy Center, and Martha J. Kanter, Civic Nation Executive Director.
Research Panel: Grievance Handling with Faculty and Librarians and Department Chairs’ Perceptions of Union Membership (l-r) Eve
Weinbaum, UMass Amherst Associate Professor, Labor Center and Sociology, Brandi Perri, Graduate Student, UMass Amherst Sociology, Leigh Settlemoir Dzwik, Oakland University Assistant Dean, and Arlene King-Berry, University of the District of Columbia Faculty Senate Chair.
Shared Governance and Collective Bargaining (l-r) Rene Castro, California State University Assistant Vice Chancellor, Labor Relations, Jeffrey Cross, Eastern Illinois University Associate VP for Academic Affairs, Steven Filling, California State University Immediate Past Chair, Academic Senate, and Joseph Fuxa, Eastern Washington University Labor Relations Manager.  Economics and Effect of College Sports (l-r) Gilbert M. Gaul, author of Billion-Dollar Ball, Saranna Thornton, Professor of Economics, Hampden-Sydney College, Chancellor Richard L. Edwards, Rutgers University-New Brunswick, and Michael Powell, NYT Reporter.
Envisioning the Faculty for the 21st Century (l-r) Scott Jaschik, Inside Higher Ed, Adrianna Kezar, Higher Education Professor, University of Southern California, and Ian Robinson, President, LEO, AFT, Local 6244, University of Michigan. Multi-Institutional Labor-
Management Committees for
Contingent Faculty
(ccw) Scot
Beckenbaugh, FMCS Deputy
Director, David Rodich, SEIU
Local 500 Executive Director,
Peter B. Doeringer, Labor
Arbitrator & Boston University
Professor emeritus, Economics,
and Nicholas Anastasopoulos,
Mirick O'Connell.
Unionization and Policies for
NTT Faculty: A Comparative Study of Research Universities
(l-r) Risa Lieberwitz, AAUP General Counsel, Christine Hughes, Emerson College VP and General Counsel, William Connellan, Chief Negotiator, University of Florida, Karen Halverson Cross, John Marshall Law School Professor, and Lacey Wootton, Hurst Senior Professorial Lecturer, American University.