Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Philosophy » Faculty
Document Actions

Philosophy Faculty

 

Faculty

Contact Information

Areas of Specialization

Christa Acampora
Professor
christa.acampora@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1415 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-4978

Modern European Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Aesthetics

Linda Alcoff
Professor
lmartina@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1419 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-5081

Continental Philosophy, Feminism, Epistemology, Critical Race, Latin American Philosophy

Omar Dahbour
Professor
odahbour@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1446 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-5084

International ethics (sovereignty, global justice), ethics of war and violence, philosophy of history

Other teaching interests: political philosophy, late modern philosophy (Hegel, Marx), Marxist and critical theory

James Freeman
Professor
jfreeman@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1416 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-4974

Informal logic and argumentation theory

Other teaching interests: symbolic logic, elementary and advanced, and philosophy of religion

Daniel Harris
Assistant Professor
danielwharris@gmail.com
Office: 1418 Hunter West
Phone:212-772-4977

Philosophy of Language (speech acts, semantics, pragmatics), History of Analytic Philosophy

Other teaching interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Logic, Business Ethics

Justin Garson
Assistant Professor
jgarson@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1418A Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-4975

History and Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, and Environmental Philosophy

Carol C. Gould
Distinguished Professor
carol.gould@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1420 Hunter West
Phone: 212-396-6502

Political Theory, Social Philosophy, Theories of Democracy, International Ethics, Philosophy and Public Policy

Laura Keating
Associate Professor, Chair
lkeating@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1417 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-4972

Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Perception

Other teaching interests: Epistemology, Logic, Philosophy of Science

Frank M. Kirkland
Associate Professor
fkirklan@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1413A Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-5080

Kant, Hegel, 19th and 20th Century European Philosophy, and Africana Philosophy

Gerald Press
Professor
gpress@hunter.cuny.edu
Office: 1414 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-4971

Ancient Philosophy, History of Philosophy, and History of Ideas

Steven Ross
Professor
sonokal@earthlink.net
Office: 1417 Hunter West
Phone: 212-772-5082

Moral Philosophy, Moral Realism, Philosophy of Mind, Aesthetics, Political philosophy

Other teaching interests: Contemporary Analytic Philosophy, Issues in Law and Public Policy

 

Professors Emerita are faculty who are still scholarly active in the field, though they no longer teach in the department.