Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Senate
Document Actions

About Us


50the Anniversary Logo - White BG


About Us



The Hunter College Senate, chartered in 1970, is the principal governance body of the College that holds a charter with the Board of Trustees. It has authority to determine College policy on all matters not reserved by the New York State Education Law or the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees for the President of Hunter College. Curriculum and related education matters; academic requirements and standards of academic standing; development, review and planning of facilities, staff and fiscal requirements; evaluation of teaching, and safeguarding the academic freedom of all members of the Hunter College community are under its jurisdiction. The Senate Comprises 202 elected members from among the faculty and students, and members of the administration appointed by the President. It elects a chair, a vice-chair, secretary and chair of the Evening Council who form the Administrative Committee.  Click HERE for the Hunter College Senate Membership.  

Please read The Foundation of the Hunter College Senate by Richard Stapleford HERE.



« July 2024 »
Go to full calendar…