Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » CSCI » Pressroom » News » Welcome New Faculty!
Document Actions

Welcome New Faculty!

We would like to extend our warmest welcome to three new faculty members: Dr. Sven Dietrich, Dr. Sarah Levitan, and Dr. Tong Yi!


Dr. Dietrich joins Hunter as Professor in the Department of Computer Science. He is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a Golden Core member of the IEEE Computer Society, and a member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). In 2014, he received the Outstanding Community Service Award from the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy. He was the program chair for the 11th conference on Detection of Intrusions and Malware & Vulnerability Assessment and a co-organizer for a Dagstuhl seminar on Network Attacks and Defenses in Software-Defined Networks in 2016.
Dr. Levitan joins Hunter as Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science. Her research interests are in spoken language processing, which aims to teach computers to understand human speech. She is especially interested in paralinguistics, the study of non-verbal aspects of speech, which she studies using computational approaches: she creates systems that glean information about a speaker’s state (e.g., emotion or deception) and traits (e.g., personality or native language) from their speech. She obtained a PhD in Computer Science from Columbia University, where she has also served as Postdoctoral Research Scientist.
Dr. Yi joins Hunter as Doctoral Lecturer in the Department of Computer Science. She is a passionate software developer who finds intuitive and efficient ways to solve problems. For eight years, she has taught core undergraduate and master’s level computer science courses to traditional and non-traditional students, turning student ideas into completed projects. After earning her undergraduate degree in China, she completed her MS and PhD at Louisiana State University, and has taught at LSU, as well as Iowa Wesleyan University, the University of Iowa, the University of Georgia, and SUNY Old Westbury.