Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Senate » Senate Committees
Document Actions

Senate Committees

All members of the Hunter community are eligible to participate on Senate committees. It is not necessary to be a senator in order to serve on a committee. Most committees have seats designated for students.

Standing committees of the Senate are defined in the charter. Additionally, the body may create, by resolution, select committees to address particular concerns or initiatives. Membership and contact information is provided below, however, all business for the committees should be routed through the Senate office:

To learn more about a particular committee, click on the link below. To request to be added to a committee, please complete the form here. Scheduled committee meetings are listed in our Events section.


Committee Committee Chair Members Meets
Undergraduate Course of Study Prof. Eckhard Kuhn-Osius Members Twice Monthly
Undergraduate Academic Requirements TBD Members As necessary
Graduate Course of Study and Academic Requirements

CO-CHAIRS Prof. Suzanne Bayar & Prof. Sandra Clarkson

Members Monthly
Student Standing Committee (Faculty Only) Prof. Sandra Clarkson Members Twice annually
Committee on Evaluation of Teaching Vice-Chair Joy Nuga
Members Several times per semester
Committee on the Budget Prof. Randall Filer
Members Several times annually
Grade Appeals Committee Prof. Jason Wirtz Members As necessary
General Education Requirements Appeals Prof. Jennifer Gaboury Members As necessary
Master Plan Commitee Prof. Laxmi Ramasubramania Members Several times per semester
Departmental Governance Committee Prof. Joseph Lao
Members As necessary
Committee on the Library Prof. Manu Bhagavan Members Several times per semester
Committee on the Calendar Prof. Shirley Raps Members Annually
Nominating Committee Prof. Jeffrey Allred Members As necessary
Charter Review Committee Prof. Philip Alcabes
Members As necessary
Computing & Technology Committee Prof. Kelle cruz
Members Several times per semester
Evening Council Prof. Laura Keating
Members As necessary
Committee on Academic Freedom Prof. Sarah Chinn Members Several times per semester
Select Committee on Student Success Prof. Mike Steiper Members Monthly
Select Committee on Academic Assessment & Evaluation Prof. Wendy Hayden
Members Several times per semester
Committee on General Education CO-CHAIRS Prof. Manu Bhagavan  & Prof. Alicia Ramos
Members Several times per semester
Committee on Services and Facilities Andrew Silver Members Several times per semester
Special Advisory Committee on Academic Functions at Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute Prof. Jonathan Rosenberg Members As necessary
Select Committee on Honors Prof. Rick Belsky Members Monthly